Dean's office

  • Jeffery Taylor, PhD

    Dean of Arts
    Acting Provost, University College
    Professor of History
    Fax: 204-474-7590

    Jeffery Taylor [BA/75, MA/78, PhD/88] began his term as Dean in 2011. He also served as Acting Director of the School of Art from 2019 to 2020. Prior to joining the University of Manitoba he served in various roles at Alberta’s Athabasca University, including Coordinator of the Labour Studies program, Chair of the Centre for Work and Community Studies and Dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences.

    Dr. Taylor's specialty is Canadian labour history. He has authored two books and numerous articles in Canadian labour history and Canadian history more generally. His current research interests include the origins and development of workplace grievance and arbitration systems in Canada and the application and use of internet-based learning technologies in higher education.

  • The Dean of Arts Jeffery Taylor sits in his office, smiling.

Dean's office – faculty

  • Jason Leboe-McGowan, PhD

    Associate Dean, Academic Affairs
    Professor of Psychology
    Fax: (204) 474-7590

    • Portfolio:

      • Academic recruitment
      • Academic staff accommodations, grievances, discipline
      • Admissions policy
      • Equity and diversity
      • Flexible learning development
      • Teaching awards, faculty recognition
      • Committees: tenure & promotion, headship, ARPC, IHP council, nominating, executive, department heads council


    • Heidi Marx, PhD

      Associate Dean, Graduate Studies, Curriculum & Internationalization
      Professor of Religion
      Fax: 204-474-7590

    • Portfolio:

      • Accessibility, accommodation
      • Co-operative education
      • Course planning and programs (CPAC)
      • Curriculum development, programming
      • Endowment fund
      • Graduate curriculum, policy
      • Indigenous content
      • International College of Manitoba student approvals
      • International studies, cooperation, exchanges
      • Program reviews
      • Teaching awards
      • Committees: IHP council, executive, department heads council, BFAR liaison
    • Rob Hoppa, PhD

      Associate Dean, Research
      Professor of Anthropology
      Fax: 204-474-7590

    • Portfolio:

      • Facilities and space (including safety and health)
      • Graduate awards, scholarships
      • Research centres, institutes
      • Research grants, contracts, awards
      • Research study leaves
      • Tri-council applications
      • Undergraduate research symposium
      • Committees: research, executive, department heads council
    • Jila Ghomeshi, PhD

      Associate Dean, Undergraduate
      Professor of Linguistics


    • Portfolio:

      • Academic dishonesty
      • Academic integrity
      • Grade submissions
      • Program reviews
      • Student recruitment, undergraduate student experience
      • Student awards, recognition
      • Committees: ARAC, undergraduate student experience, experiential learning, teaching and learning enhancement, Rhodes Scholarship, executive, department heads council, academic advising council
    • Vacant

      Faculty Lead, Indigenous

    • Portfolio:

      • Provide Indigenous perspective, training and support in the areas of: teaching, curriculum, research, student experience, academic integrity, policies, processes and procedures

    Dean's office - staff

    Budget office


    Information and technology

    Student services

    Arts faculty and staff by program area

    Past Deans

    • William Tier

      Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science

    • H. P. Armes

      Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science

    • H. H. Saunderson

      Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science

    • William Waines

      Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science

    • William Sibley

      Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science

    • A. Lloyd Dulmage

      Dean, Faculty of Arts

    • Donald McCarthy

      Dean, Faculty of Arts

    • Fred Stambrook

      Dean, Faculty of Arts

    • John Finlay

      Dean, Faculty of Arts

    • Raymond Currie

      Dean, Faculty of Arts

    • Robert O'Kell

      Dean, Faculty of Arts

    • Richard Sigurdson

      Dean, Faculty of Arts

    Contact us

    Faculty of Arts
    3rd Floor Fletcher Argue Building
    15 Chancellors Circle
    University of Manitoba (Fort Garry campus)
    Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2 Canada

    Toll Free: 1-800-432-1960 ext. 9100