Department head and chairs

Administrative Staff

  • General office contact information

    Department of Indigenous Studies
    Room 215 Isbister Building
    183 Dafoe Road
    University of Manitoba (Fort Gary campus)
    Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2

    General office: 204-474-9266
    Toll free (within Manitoba): (800) 432-1960
    Fax: 204-474-7657
    Indigenous.Studies@umanitoba.ca

Academic Faculty

Sessional instructors

Other professorial staff

Adjuncts

Graduate students

Masters' students

Dennis Anderson
anders63@myumanitoba.ca

Caden Colegrove
colegroc@myumanitoba.ca
Research focus on body and sexual sovereignty for Two-Spirit and queer Indigenous Peoples with a focus on performance, dance, and visual storytelling.

Ally Freedman
freedmaa@myumanitoba.ca
Treaties and treaty constitutionalism, necro-politics, the interrelationships between land and body sovereignty.

Sarah Hourie
houries@myumanitoba.ca
Policy review and critique of existing sexual violence policies within colonial institutions.

Mona Kines
kinesm@myumanitoba.ca
Historic Metis experience of space and place within the Metis Homeland.

Angelina McLeod
mcleoda6@myumanitoba.ca

Sarah Olson
olsons38@myumanitoba.ca
Ongoing misrepresentation of Indigenous women in Canadian society as a contributing factor of MMIWG2S and systemic oppression, the collective reclamation of narrative and voice.

Caitlin Richard
richar43@myumanitoba.ca

Andrea St. Pierre
stpierra@myumanitoba.ca

Nicole Stonyk
stonykn@myumanitoba.ca
Decolonizing forms of Western music and performance.

PhD students

Hope Ace
aceh@myumanitoba.ca
Treaties and treaty constitutionalism, necro-politics, the interrelationships between land and body sovereignty.

Brielle Beaudin-Reimer
beaudinb@myumanitoba.ca

Melanie Belmore
belmorem@myumanitoba.ca

Jason Bone
umbone@myumanitoba.ca

James Chalmers
chalmerj@myumanitoba.ca

Darren Courchene
courchdh@myumanitoba.ca

Laura Forsythe
forsyt14@myumanitoba.ca
Metis Research: The Contributions of the Grandmothers of Metis Studies.

Robert Hamilton
hamilt57@myumanitoba.ca

Adrienne Huard
umhuard2@myumanitoba.ca

Micheline Hughes
hughesm8@myumanitoba.ca

Jennifer Keith
keithj3@myumanitoba.ca

Carla Kennedy
umkenn08@myumanitoba.ca

Timothy Maton
matont@myumanitoba.ca

Carmen Miedema
miedemac@myumanitoba.ca

Shauna Mulligan
ummulli8@myumanitoba.ca
Indigenous history in the military. Oral testimonies of Cree, Dene and Inuit Rangers.

Stephanie Sinclair
umsincl5@myumanitoba.ca

Eduardo Vergolino
vergolie@myumanitoba.ca
Decolonial education