UM Recognitions

Distinguished Professors

The title, Distinguished Professor, is conferred by UM on academic staff members who have demonstrated outstanding distinction in research, scholarship, creative endeavours, professional service and teaching.

Rh Awards

The Rh Awards are awarded by the Winnipeg Rh Institute Foundation to support the advancement of knowledge in all fields at UM. It derives funds for this from royalties arising from the sale of serums and medicinal formulae. Awards are given in two categories: The Dr. John M. Bowman Memorial Winnipeg Rh Institute Foundation Award, established in 1997 and renamed in Dr. Bowman’s memory in 2005, recognizes outstanding research accomplishments by a non-retired, established UM faculty member.

The Terry G. Falconer Memorial Rh Institute Foundation Emerging Researcher Awards were established in 1973. They are awarded to UM faculty members in the early stages of their careers who display exceptional innovation, leadership and promise in their chosen fields.

National awards

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

To be inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, recipients must not only be exemplary scientists, but leaders whose work has led to exceptional improvements in human health. Induction into is only given to a select few who have pushed the boundaries of discovery and innovation.

Canadian Academy of Engineering

The Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) is an independent, self-governing and non-profit organization established in 1987. Members of the CAE are nominated and elected by their peers to honorary Fellowships in view of their distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession. Fellows are committed to ensuring that Canada’s engineering expertise is applied to the benefit of all Canadians. The UM has 18 Fellows.

Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

Induction into the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) as a Fellow is considered one of the highest honours within Canada’s academic community. Fellows are chosen by their peers based on their demonstrated leadership, creativity, distinctive competencies and commitment to advancing academic health sciences. The UM has 29 current Fellows.

The Royal Society of Canada

The fellowship of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) comprises over 2,000 Canadian scholars, artists and scientists, peer-elected as the best in their field. These are distinguished men and women from all branches of learning who have made remarkable contributions in the arts, the humanities and the sciences, as well as in Canadian public life. The UM has 49 RSC Fellows and 9 Members of the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

WXN Women’s Top 100

WXN’s annual awards celebrate the incredible accomplishments of 100 Canadian women who have achieved great things for our society. UM is home to 17 of Canada’s most powerful women - the most WXN Top 100 winners among Canadian universities.

You may also be interested in

Contact us

Office of the Vice-President (Research and International)
Room 410/406 Administration Building
66 Chancellor's Circle
University of Manitoba (Fort Garry campus)
Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2 Canada