Two faculty of environment students work at a desk.

Support for students

Academic advisors

Academic advisors are committed to engaging, encouraging, equipping, and empowering students to explore and excel in the university environment and beyond. Your academic advisor will encourage you to find academic areas and courses that are the best fit for you. We believe advising is a collaborative process because in the end, you are responsible for your educational experience.

Advisors in the Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources are available on a year-round basis to answer any questions you may have regarding your academic program in the Riddell faculty. They will refer you to other sources on campus as required.

The faculty office hours are Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. unless otherwise posted.

*Please note that advising appointments are online through Microsoft Teams, which all University of Manitoba students have free access to. [To sign into Microsoft Teams, use the same e-mail address and password that you use to sign into your University of Manitoba e-mail account (]

New Riddell students

Welcome to Riddell!

Whether you are direct entry, advanced entry or a transfer student, you are now part of an engaged academic community of learners and professionals who are here to help you excel both academically and professionally. We are excited to provide you with challenging and practical learning opportunities that prepare you to understand our planet and the environment, manage resources, and find solutions to the problems facing humanity in the 21st century.

Student Forms

Program Summary Sheets

Program summary sheets can help you navigate your program requirement progression with your academic advisor.

Earth Sciences honours programs

The Earth Sciences (Geology and Geophysics) Honours Programs are balanced four-year undergraduate programs leading to a Bachelor of Science in Geological Sciences. These programs are structured to allow students to obtain professional registration (EGM) and move into the minerals, energy or environmental industries (careers).

Students should contact a Riddell Faculty Academic Advisor for help in designing a program to fit their needs.

Environment and Geography honours programs

Undertaking an Honours degree will allow you to get the most out of your Environment and Geography (Environmental Science, Environmental Studies, Geography and Physical Geography) degree. An Honours degree will provide you with an opportunity to focus your degree though planning and conducting an Honours thesis project on a topic of your interest.

More information can be found here.

Focus areas

You should begin thinking about your focus area during your second year.

A focus area is an individualized approach to undergraduate education. The student, in collaboration with a student advisor, will organize a body of courses from several subject fields around a central theme, topic, or set of related issues.

Through student driven research and by identifying areas and careers that you are interested in, you will be able to develop a focus area to acquire the knowledge and skills required to enter further research programs and the workforce.

Learn more about focus areas:

Student groups

Student group are a great way to make friends, create a study community and a support group. Joining a student group also keeps you involved in the wider UM community and ensures that your voice is heard during university-wide decision-making.

Student groups related to the Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth and Resources include:

Society of Earth Science and Environmental Students (SESES)

The Society of Earth Science and Environmental Students is a council of undergraduate students that represents students in the Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources. Our goal is to help enhance Riddell students’ undergraduate experiences by providing educational opportunities and planning social events. We are your connection to UMSU and strive to make the concerns of students in the faculty heard.

2022-2023 SESES Council

President: Cailin Hesketh-Jost
Vice-President: Thomas Gauthier
Treasurer: Joyce Ji
Secretary: Callie Moore
Communications Director: Renee Waldner
Social Chair: Kiersten Zueff
Sports Chair: Abbie Schultz
Events Coordinator: Nabiha Mustafa
Sustainability Ambassador: Maria Teresa Marsh Carriles
Senate: Annabelle Leger
UMSU Representative: Shekhar Shubro Das Gupta
International Student Representative: Tioluwani Jonathan Lowo
Indigenous Students Representative: Linnea McNichol
Mature Students Representative: Matthew Justin
LGBTQ+ Representative: Christopher Barkwell
Early Years Representative: Esme Zaric and Yiseul Kang
Accessibility Representative: Unfilled

We love to hear from you! Contact us at: 
Instagram: @um.seses 
Facebook: Society of Earth Science and Environmental Students – SESES

Environment and Geography Students Association (EGSA)

The Environment and Geography Students Association is a student run council in the Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth and Resources. We represent the Environment and Geography students within the faculty. We aim to engage students of the faculty through various social and educational events run throughout the year. These events are created to build a sense of community within the faculty, while connecting students and professors in meaningful ways.

2022-2023 council:

Co-Presidents: Francesca Espiritu and Kailey Carrière
Treasurer: Allison Hilliker
Social Chair: Fardeen Chowdhury
Community Engagement: Kathan Burky
Sustainability Representatives: Aashiya Sharma and Maja Crawley
Geography Representative: Ciara Okumura
Social Media Manager: Ahsan Mahboob
Communications Representative: Klara Gagnon

We can be contacted at:
Instagram: @umegsa
Facebook: U of M Environment and Geography Student's Association

Geo Club

2022-2023 GEOCLUB council:  

President: Adam Nykyforak
Vice President: Tyler Wong 
Treasurer: Katrina Mayo 
3rd year rep: Iyowuna Amakiri 
Social chair: William Ezeana
Department Council Rep: Katrina Mayo
Faculty Council Rep: Adam Nykyforak

We can be contacted at:

Geophysics Student Society (GSS)

President: Ray Guerard -

Environment and Geography Graduate Student Association (EGGSA)

Geological Sciences Graduate Students Association (GSGSA)

Executive Council 2022-2023

President – Derek Drayson
Vice President – Robert Meek
Treasurer – Ian Burron
UMGSA Council Representative – Tekla Cunningham
Department Council Representative – James Macdonald and Derek Drayson
Faculty Council Representative – Virginia Gold

Natural Resources Institute Graduate Student Association (NRIGSA)

Alejandra Diabb Sanchez (MNRM first year rep)
Emmanuella Addae-Wireko (PhD first year rep)
Sobiya Badat (MNRM second year rep)
Panos Polyzois (PhD second year rep)

Students are encouraged to play an active role in decision-making processes at the Natural Resources Institute. Every year student representatives are selected by the student body, two from the first year class (one Master’s & one Ph.D.) and two from the second year classes of the Master’s and PhD programs. Some of the roles and responsibilities of the respective representatives are similar from year to year; however they may vary depending on the interests and activities of students, faculty and st

University of Manitoba SEG student chapter (UMSEG)

UM Society of Economic Geologists (UMSEG)

2022-2023 council:  

President: Robert Meek
Vice President: Derek Drayson
Secretary: Issac Jacques
Treasurer:  Ian Burron

We can be contacted at:

University of Manitoba Executive Committee and Advisor Roster (PDF)

Learning outside the classroom

You may also be looking for

Contact us

Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources
Room 440 Wallace Building
125 Dysart Road
University of Manitoba (Fort Garry campus)
Winnipeg, MB, Canada R3T 2N2