Equity, diversity and inclusion are linked to all five UM strategic priorities:

  • Inspiring minds through innovating and quality teaching
  • Driving discovery and Insight through excellence in research, scholarly work and other creative activities
  • Creating pathways to Indigenous achievement 
  • Building community that creates an outstanding learning and working environment
  • Forging connections to foster high impact community engagement that build on the advantages of a diverse and inclusive workplace.

All learners, faculty and staff - regardless of race, ethnicity, colour, religious beliefs, national  origin, rurality, gender, age, sexual orientation, disability, political beliefs, language and socio-economic status - are to be valued for their individuality, advanced academic pursuits, and contributions to the diversity and functions of the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences and the University of Manitoba.

    Our commitment to reconciliation

    The Rady Faculty of Health Sciences acknowledges its location on Treaty 1 Territory and obligation to provide service to diverse Indigenous communities. We are committed to implementing the Calls to Action, and pledge to further the Principles of Reconciliation from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.

    These efforts are detailed in the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences Reconciliation Action Plan, led by Ongomiizwin, the Indigenous Institute of Health and Healing.

    Disruption of all forms of racism

    The Rady Faculty of Health Sciences takes responsibility to eliminate all forms of racism in the faculty, to promote safe work and learning environments free of racism and to intervene when witnessing any racism.

    Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

    The Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee acts as the main discussion and advisory body of the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences in relation to issues of equity, diversity and inclusion.

    Committee members


    Martha Ainslie, Co-Chair

    Reg Urbanowski, Co-Chair
    Dean, College of Rehabilitation Sciences


    Maribel Abrenica
    Office Manager, College of Rehabilitation Sciences

    Devi Atukorallaya
    Assistant Professor, Oral Biology, Dr. Gerald Niznick College of Dentistry

    Stephanie Bansee
    Student, College of Pharmacy

    Debra Beach Ducharme
    Director, Indigenous Health

    Tania Gottschalk
    Education Services Librarian

    Jackie Gruber, Human Rights & Conflict Management Officer
    Alternate: Brian Barth, Conflict Management Advisor

    Colin Kazina
    Assistant Professor, section of Neurosurgery

    Hanna Kilas
    Respiratory Therapy Student Council President, College of Rehabilitation Sciences

    Janesca Kydd
    Legal Counsel, Rady Faculty

    Marcia Langhan
    Director, Planning and Priorities, Rady Faculty

    Donna MartinAssociate Dean, College of Nursing

    Sheri McKinstry
    Graduate Student, Pediatric Dentistry, Dr. Gerald Niznick College of Dentistry

    Sarah Olsen
    Support staff, College of Pharmacy

    Ehiedu Osemiha
    Undergraduate Student, Dr. Gerald Niznick College of Dentistry

    Lalitha Raman-Wilms
    Dean, College of Pharmacy

    Audrey Richards
    Student Advisor and Counsellor, College of Nursing 

    Marina Rountree-James
    PARIM Rep

    Carla Shapiro
    Senior Instructor

    Sara SmithStudent Medicine
    Alternates: Lucas Vasas or Yihui Wei  (recommended by MMSA)

    Valerie Williams
    Diversity Consultant

    You may also want

    Contact us

    Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
    Rady Faculty of Health Sciences
    A118-753 McDermot Avenue
    University of Manitoba (Bannatyne Campus)
    Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 0W3