Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

  • Dr. Diane Hiebert-Murphy

    Dr. Diane Hiebert-Murphy was appointed as Provost and Vice-President (Academic) effective July 1, 2021. Before assuming her role as Provost, Dr. Hiebert-Murphy served as Vice-Provost (Academic Affairs) from 2016 to 2021.  

    An accomplished researcher, clinician, mentor and administrator, Dr. Hiebert-Murphy is an experienced consensus builder who brings a trusted and confident voice in leading and empowering others. Her strong commitment to teaching and clinical research supervision also inform her approach to leadership.

  • photo of Diane Hiebert-Murphy

More about Dr. Hiebert-Murphy

Dr. Hiebert-Murphy's other past administrative work includes Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Programs in the Faculty of Social Work; Associate Dean in the Faculty of Graduate Studies; and Associate Director of the Psychological Service Centre. During her time as Vice-Provost, she also assumed the position of Acting Dean, Faculty of Social Work. 

She obtained a BSW, MA and PhD in Clinical Psychology at the University of Manitoba, completing a clinical internship at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. She is a Professor in UM's Faculty of Social Work and the Psychological Service Centre in the Faculty of Arts. 

Her research and scholarship focuses on intervention with families of young children with disabilities and families impacted by violence, and has been funded nationally (SSHRC) and provincially. Since 1998 she has been the director of the Couples Project, a provincially funded service/training/research program for couples with a history of intimate partner violence. She is a member of the Family Violence Consortium of Manitoba and has served on the Executive Council of the Psychological Association of Manitoba. 

A passionate educator and researcher, Dr. Hiebert-Murphy has co-edited three books and has disseminated her research in peer-reviewed articles, research reports and book chapters. She has presented her work at many scholarly meetings, including international conferences.

Dr. Hiebert-Murphy has advised more than 60 graduate students and  has participated on many advisory committees, and she continues to be active in student mentorship. As a registered clinical psychologist, she also continues to engage in clinical practice while sustaining her research program. 

In 2019 she was honoured in a Star Blanket ceremony, which recognizes a person who humbly dedicates herself to the service of others.


Who we are

Our staff

Rowena Krentz
Director, Provost's Office
Norman Delos Reyes
Executive Coordinator 
Michael Sheldon
Budget Officer
Sarah Vanderveen
Communications Coordinator
Cassandra Davidson
Academic Planning and Priorities Specialist

Jennifer Marchant
Academic Programs Specialist

Dallas Hull
Assistant to the Vice-Provost (Academic Planning and Programs)
Marcia Davies
Assistant to the Vice-Provost (Students)
Michelle Sookbirsingh
Assistant to the Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning)
Jill Bonner
Assistant to the Vice-Provost (Academic Affairs)
Oluchi Gloria Ogbu
Faculty Relations Specialist
Francene Perehinec
Family Resource Coordinator
Karen Soares
Assistant to the Vice-Provost (Health Sciences)

Marie-Christine Beaulieu
Assistant to the Vice-Provost (Libraries)

Amy Zhang
EDI Coordinator to Vice-Provost (Equity)
Jennifer Dengate
Director, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Research & Projects


What we do

Contact us

Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic)
Room 208 Administration Building
66 Chancellor's Circle
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2 Canada