Deans and directors of faculties and schools

Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences

Martin G. Scanlon, Dean
Professor, Department of Food and Human Nutritional Sciences


Mira (Mimi) Locher, Dean
Associate Professor, Department of Architecture

School of Art

Edward Jurkowski, Acting Director
Dean, Desautels Faculty of Music

Faculty of Arts

Rob Hoppa, Acting Dean
Professor of History

I.H. Asper School of Business, Faculty of Management

Bruno Silvestre, Dean
CPA Manitoba Chair in Business Leadership

Price Faculty of Engineering

Marcia Friesen, Dean
Professor, Center for Engineering Professional Practice and Engineering Education
NSERC Chair in Design Engineering for Sustainable Development and Enhanced Design Integration

Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources

Stephan Pflugmacher Lima, Dean

Faculty of Graduate Studies

Kelley Main, Dean
Professor of Marketing, Asper School of Business

Rady Faculty of Health Sciences

Peter Nickerson, Dean

Faculty of Kinesiology and Recreation Management

Douglas Brown, Dean


Lisa O'Hara, Vice-Provost (Libraries) and University Librarian

Desautels Faculty of Music

Edward Jurkowski, Dean

Faculty of Social Work

Michael Yellow Bird, Dean

Division of Extended Education

Dr. Rod Lastra, Acting Dean

More about Rod Lastra

UM’s Board of Governors approved the appointment of Dr. Rod Lastra as Acting Dean of the Division of Extended Education from February 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023. Dr. Lastra has served as Extended Education’s Associate Dean (Academic) since 2017, and Chair of Extended Education’s program review committee. He is currently also serving as acting associate area director of the Access program.

Dr. Lastra is committed to ensuring that Extended Education successfully engages with industry, professional organizations and community partners. Dr. Lastra’s scholarly interests are in the area of micro-credentials, life-long learning, micro-learning and assessing academic barriers of post-secondary attainment for under-represented non-traditional learners. He is an active member of the Canadian Association of Continuing Education, the Pan-Canadian Micro-Credential working group, and a number of international university continuing education associations.

Rectors and wardens of affiliated colleges

St. John's College

Allison Abra, Warden and Vice-Chancellor

University College

Rob Hoppa, Acting Provost, University College
Professor of History

Deans of professional colleges

College of Dentistry

Anastasia Kelekis-Cholakis, Dean

Max Rady College of Medicine

Peter Nickerson, Dean

College of Rehabilitation Sciences

Reginald Urbanowski, Dean