Members of the retirees association chatting at the President's Reception.

Annual General Meeting

UMRA's Annual General Meeting (AGM) is held each fall.

  • The Annual General Meeting of the University of Manitoba Retirees Association will be held on Saturday September 30, 2023 from12:00 pm until 1:30 pm in Marshall McLuhan Hall, Fort Garry Campus, University of Manitoba. President's reception to follow.

    Learn more about the President’s Reception on the Events and activities page.

President's report

The president's report is released annually and includes highlights of the year's activities at a glance.

2020-2021 President's report

This is my first Annual Report as President of UMRA. Highlights of this past year are provided below.

One of the major undertakings this past year has been the updating of our website information and move to the new Drupal platform. In November, I joined the UMRA representatives on the joint U of M committee to assist with the process. In addition to the UofM staff assigned to this project, I want to express my sincere thanks to Janice Mann and Gene Walz of the UMRA Communication Committee for leading the charge on this huge task including Mark O’Riley and Dan Sitar. While we hope to have the new website up by the end of September, further modifications may be necessary as we navigate this new and improved website.

With the help and support of the UMRA Executive Committee, we were successful in Ed Unrau’s nomination for a CURAC/ARUCC Tribute Award. Ed’s exceptional contributions to UMRA make him most deserving of this award.

2021-2022 President's report continued


UMRA offers a number of committee opportunities for members.

Executive Committee

The executive committee is responsible for overseeing the administrative and business affairs of the association. 

  • Janet Sealey

    Mark O'Riley
    Vice President

    Dan Sitar
    Past President

  • Dennis Cooley

    June LaRonde

    Note The President is an ex-officio
    member of all
    other committees.

Executive Committee Meeting highlights February 23, 2023

  • University of Manitoba administration has once again agreed to pay UMRA’s & CURAC membership renewal for 2023.
  • The Executive approved of the UMRA President attending the CURAC AGM in Saskatoon from May 31 to June 2, 2023.
  • 3MT Final competition is scheduled for Thursday March 30, 2023 at 7 p.m. UMRA’s President and Vice-president will be attending the final competition where they will be presenting the 2nd prize which is sponsored by UMRA.
  • The retirement planning sessions are still well attended and going forward. Bernie Gold, Director, Staff Benefits, advised that the costs for the retirement planning sessions will be funded as part of the Staff Benefits Office budget.
  • The Benefits and Pension committee are currently working with Lisa Hanson, Johnson insurance to develop a benefits plan that might be attractive to retirees, especially those who, at age 75, must shop around for a new plan.
  • CURAC is assembling information to compare benefits and pensions at different universities. June Stewart and Janet Sealey completed the survey for UMRA.
  • The Executive committee approved a further donation of $1,000.00 to both the UMRA bursary fund and the UMRA scholarship fund.
  • A members' event at the new Royal Aviation museum in early summer was approved.
  • U of M retirees contributed 54% of the funds donated to the United Way in the most recent campaign.
  • Next Executive meeting will be held on Thursday, April 20, 2023 at 2:00 p.m.

Executive committee meeting minutes

  • Members At Large

    Marjorie Doyle

    Ed Enrau

    Norma Godavari

    Jay Goldstein

    Bill Kops

  • Ex-offico Members

    Gene Walz, Chair
    Communications Committee

    Gladys Stewart, Chair
    Membership Committee

Benefits and pensions committee

  • Mark O'Riley & June Stewart (Co-chairs)
  • Thelma Lussier
  • Gail Mackisey
  • Janet Sealey

Communications committee

  • Gene Walz (Chair)
  • Gene Walz (Editor: Retiree's News)
  • Janice Mann (Webmaster)
  • Ed Unrau
  • Janet Sealey
  • Dan Sitar
  • Bob Talbot

Membership committee

  • Gladys Stewart (Chair)
  • Norma Godavari
  • Jay Goldstein
  • Jean Paterson

Nominating committee

  • Dan Sitar (Chair)
  • Marjorie Doyle

Endowment fund committee

  • Ed Unrau (Chair)
  • Monica Carlberg (Donor Relations, UM)
  • Janice Mann
  • Lotfollah Shafai
  • Peri Venkatesh

United Way retiree campaign

  • Dan Sitar

Privacy Officer

  • Mark O'Riley

Retiree contact within UM

Learn more about UMRA governance

Contact us

University of Manitoba Retiree Association
c/o Learning & Organizational Development
309 Administration Building
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2 Canada