Up to three people may receive this honor each year, and not more than 25 professors may hold the title at one time. Distinguished Professors are appointed by the University's Board of Governors on the recommendation of a Distinguished Professor Selection Committee, chaired by the University's President and Vice-Chancellor.

The following list of academic staff members currently holding the title of Distinguished Professor Emeritus/Emerita indicates the year of their appointment, faculty and where applicable, department.  

Year Appointed
Distinguished Professor
Name Department, College, Faculty Year Received Title of Distinguished Professor Emeritus/Emerita
1981 Friesen, H.G. Physiology, Medicine, Health Sciences 2000
1983 Cohen, H. Applied Mathematics, Science 2004
1984 Gibson, D. Law 2004
1985 Gratzer, George Mathematics, Science 2011
1986 Anthonisen, N. Medicine, Health Sciences 2004
1986 Klostermaier, K.K. Religion, Arts 1999
1986 Ronald, A.R. Medicine, Health Sciences 1999
1989 Eales, J.G. Zoology, Science 2004
1993 Wolfart, H. Christoph Linguistics, Arts 2012
1997 Hawthorne, Frank Geological Sciences, Environment, Earth, and Resources 2018
1997 Anna, Timothy History, Arts 2010
1998 Smil, Vaclav Geography, Arts 2011
1999 Younes, Madgy Internal Medicine, Medicine, Health Sciences 2004


1999 van Oers, Willem T.H. Physics and Astronomy, Science 2004


2002 Friesen, Gerald History, Arts 2011
2002 Plummer, Francis Medical Microbiology, Medicine, Health Sciences 2018
2002 Shafai, Lotfollah Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering 2016
2003 Berkes, Fikret Natural Resources Institute, Environment, Earth, and Resources 2016
2003 Chaturvedi, Mahesh Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Engineering 2010
2006 Kwong, Julia Sociology, Arts 2007
2006 Martin, Garry Psychology, Arts 2009
2007 Degner, Lesley Nursing, Health Sciences 2013
2008 Page, John Physics and Astronomy, Science 2015
2008 Butler, Michael Microbiology, Science 2016
2010 Holley, Richard Food Science, Agricultural and Food Sciences 2016