On this page

Deans

Edward Jurkowski, Dean

Contact Sarah Rout to make an appointment to share your feedback on the student experience at the Desautels Faculty of Music.

Laura Loewen, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs

The Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs handles matters involving:

Contact Shannon Ralkie to make an appointment with the Associate Dean, Undergraduate.

James Maiello, Associate Dean, Graduate Programs and Research

The Associate Dean, Graduate Programs oversees all facets of research and creative works in the Desautels Faculty of Music, and handles matters involving:

Contact Amanda Wiebe to make an appointment.

Brass

For questions regarding brass, please contact brass area head Richard Gillis.

Composition

For questions regarding composition, please contact composition area head Gordon Fitzell.

Conducting

For questions regarding choral conducting, please contact Director of Choral Studies Elroy Friesen.

For questions about instrumental conducting, please contact Director of Bands Jacquie Dawson.

Guitar

For questions regarding guitar, please contact strings area head Oleg Pokhanovski.

Jazz

For questions regarding jazz, please contact jazz area head Will Bonness.

Music Education

For questions regarding music education, please contact music education area head Jody Stark.

Musicianship Skills

Music Research

For questions regarding music research, please contact music research area head David Byrne.

Percussion/Drums

For questions regarding percussion, please contact percussion area head Victoria Sparks.

Piano

For questions regarding classical piano, please contact classical piano area head David Moroz.

For questions regarding collaborative piano, please contact collaborative piano area head Judy Kehler Siebert.

Strings

For questions regarding strings, please contact strings area head Oleg Pokhanovski.

Voice

For questions regarding voice, please contact voice area head Mel Braun.

Woodwinds

For questions regarding woodwinds, please contact woodwinds area head Allen Harrington.

Ensemble Directors

Desautels Faculty of Music collaborative pianists

The Faculty’s collaborative pianists are available to accompany students for recitals, courses, rehearsals, performances and auditions. Collaborative pianists offer reasonable fees for their services. Students who require the services of a collaborative pianist should contact the collaborative pianists directly to make arrangements.

Professors and Deans Emeriti

Senior Scholars

Administration and support staff

Admissions Coordinator and Recruitment Lead, Louella Yambot

Louella.yambot@umanitoba.ca

The Admissions Coordinator and Recruitment Lead handles matters involving:

Business Manager, Kanchana Sankaranarayanan

Kanchana.Sankaranayanan@umanitoba.ca

The Business Manager provides the following services:

Communications Assistant, Alejandra Gonzalez

Alejandra.Gonzalez@umanitoba.ca

The Communications Assistant handles matters involving:

Dean's Office Assistant, Shannon Ralkie

shannon.ralkie@umanitoba.ca

Facilities and Events Coordinator, Sue Stone Scott

Sue.StoneScott@umanitoba.ca

The Facilities and Events Coordinator handles matters involving:

Financial Administrator, Easha Meryum

Easha.Meryum@umanitoba.ca

The Financial Administrator handles matters involving:

Financial Assistant, Carlos Dimawala

Carlos.dimawala@umanitoba.ca

The Financial Assistant handles matters involving:

Front Office Assistant, Amanda Wiebe

Amanda.Wiebe@umanitoba.ca

The Front Office Assistant handles matters involving:

Graduate Program Assistant, Amanda Wiebe

Amanda.Wiebe@umanitoba.ca

The Graduate Program Assistant handles matters involving:

 

HR Officer and Executive Assistant, Sarah Rout

Sarah.rout@umanitoba.ca

The Human Resources Officer and Executive Assistant handles:

LAN Coordinator, Franc Fernandez

The LAN Coordinator handles matters involving:

Preparatory Studies Coordinator, Donnalynn Grills

Donnalynn.grills@umanitoba.ca

The Preparatory Studies Coordinator handles matters involving:

Recording Studio Technician, Adam Mlodzinski

Kenneth.Mlodzinski@umanitoba.ca

The Recording Studio Technician handles matters involving:

Student Advisor, Jennifer Wang

jennifer.wang@umanitoba.ca

The Student Advisor handles matters involving: