On this page

Deans

Edward Jurkowski, Dean

Contact Sarah Rout if you'd like to make an appointment to share your feedback on the student experience at the Desautels Faculty of Music.

Laura Loewen, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs

The Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs handles matters involving:

Contact Shannon Ralkie to make an appointment with the Associate Dean, Undergraduate.

James Maiello, Associate Dean, Graduate Programs and Research

The Associate Dean, Graduate Programs and Research oversees all facets of research and creative works in the Desautels Faculty of Music, and handles matters involving:

Contact Amanda Wiebe to make an appointment.

Brass

For questions regarding brass, please contact brass area head Richard Gillis.

Composition

For questions regarding composition, please contact composition area head Gordon Fitzell.

Conducting

For questions regarding choral conducting, please contact Director of Choral Studies Elroy Friesen.

For questions about instrumental conducting, please contact Director of Bands Jacquie Dawson.

Guitar

For questions regarding guitar, please contact guitar area head Minna Rose Chung.

Jazz

For questions regarding jazz, please contact jazz area head Karly Epp

Music Education

For questions regarding music education, please contact music education area head Jody Stark.

Musicianship Skills

Music Research

For questions regarding music research, please contact music research area head David Byrne.

Percussion/Drums

For questions regarding percussion, please contact percussion area head Victoria Sparks.

Piano

For questions regarding classical piano, please contact classical piano area head David Moroz.

For questions regarding collaborative piano, please contact collaborative piano area head Judy Kehler Siebert.

Strings

For questions regarding strings, please contact strings area head Minna Rose Chung.

Voice

For questions regarding voice, please contact voice area head Mel Braun.

Woodwinds

For questions regarding woodwinds, please contact woodwinds area head Allen Harrington.

Ensemble Directors

Desautels Faculty of Music collaborative pianists

The Faculty’s collaborative pianists are available to accompany students for recitals, courses, rehearsals, performances and auditions. Collaborative pianists offer reasonable fees for their services. Students who require the services of a collaborative pianist should contact the collaborative pianists directly to make arrangements.

Professors and Deans Emeriti

Senior Scholars

Administration and support staff

Admissions and Recruitment Coordinator, Louella Yambot

Louella.yambot@umanitoba.ca

204-474-9915

The Admissions and Recruitment Coordinator handles matters involving:

Business Manager, Kanchana Sankaranarayanan

Kanchana.Sankaranayanan@umanitoba.ca

204-479-7366

The Business Manager provides the following services:

Communications Assistant, Shaneela Boodoo

shaneela.boodoo@umanitoba.ca

431-336-7808

The Communications Assistant handles matters involving:

Dean's Office Assistant, Shannon Ralkie

shannon.ralkie@umanitoba.ca

204-474-8660

Facilities and Events Coordinator, Sue Stone Scott

Sue.StoneScott@umanitoba.ca

204-474-9408

The Facilities and Events Coordinator handles matters involving:

Financial Administrator, Easha Meryum

Easha.Meryum@umanitoba.ca

204-474-8062

The Financial Administrator handles matters involving:

Financial Assistant, Carlos Dimawala

Carlos.dimawala@umanitoba.ca

204-474-7801

The Financial Assistant handles matters involving:

Front Office Assistant, Helena Quintas Ramaldes

helena.quintasramaldes@umanitoba.ca

204-474-9310

The Front Office Assistant handles matters involving:

Graduate Program Assistant, Amanda Wiebe

Amanda.Wiebe@umanitoba.ca

204-474-6036

The Graduate Program Assistant handles matters involving:

 

Executive Assistant to the Dean/HR Officer, Sarah Rout

Sarah.rout@umanitoba.ca

431-335-4852

The HR Officer and Executive Assistant handles:

LAN Coordinator, Franc Fernandez

franc.fernandez@umanitoba.ca

431-277-6497

The LAN Coordinator handles matters involving:

Preparatory Studies Coordinator, Donnalynn Grills

Donnalynn.grills@umanitoba.ca

204-474-9403

The Preparatory Studies Coordinator handles matters involving:

Recording Studio Technician, Adam Mlodzinski

Kenneth.Mlodzinski@umanitoba.ca

431-373-4371

The Recording Studio Technician handles matters involving:

Undergraduate Student Advisor, Jennifer Wang

jennifer.wang@umanitoba.ca

204-474-9133

The Student Advisor handles matters involving: