A nursing student works on setting an IV drip onto a pole.


The CCA is an opportunity for you to demonstrate how your knowledge and practice matches what is expected of registered nurses to deliver safe and competent care. All registered nurses must have demonstrated that they can meet the entry-level competencies.

Location and duration

The CCA is completed over four days and is conducted at the Clinical Competence Assessment Centre at the University of Manitoba:

College of Nursing, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences
Helen Glass Centre for Nursing, 89 Curry Place
University of Manitoba (Fort Garry campus)
Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2 Canada

Areas of nursing assessed

  • You may be asked to complete assessments in any or all of the following areas:

    • Ambulatory care
    • Community health
    • Emergency care
    • Geriatrics
    • Medical
    • Mental health
    • Obstetrics
    • Palliative care
    • Pediatric and adolescent health
    • Surgical
  • The assessment is made up these components:

    • Written diagnostic exam
    • Clinical Judgment Scenarios (CJS)
    • Chart review and development of a nursing care plan
    • Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE)
    • Self-assessment

Please review the Candidate Guide for a description of each of these components.

Preparing for the assessment

The CCA looks at entry-level competencies; it does not look at expert levels of nursing practice. Even if you have practiced in a highly specialized area, your knowledge and practice is being compared to entry-level competencies. You will likely need to refresh your entry-level knowledge before you take the CCA.

How to apply for the CCA


Contact us

For more information about the Clinical Competence Assessment, please contact our team at nurscomp@umanitoba.ca.

College of Nursing
Helen Glass Centre for Nursing
89 Curry Place
University of Manitoba (Fort Garry Campus) 
Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2 Canada