The votes have been counted and UM alumni have selected Dr. Brenna Shearer [BMR(OT)/86] as their next alumni representative for the UM Board of Governors. Congratulations, Dr. Shearer!


The University of Manitoba’s Board of Governors is responsible for overseeing the administrative and business affairs of UM, serving as the corporate governing body of the University. Its duties include approving the annual budget and appointing and monitoring the performance of the President and Vice-Chancellor.

UM alumni elect fellow graduates to serve in three of the 23 University of Manitoba Board of Governors positions. Alumni elected to serve on the Board of Governors may do so for a maximum of three consecutive three-year terms. One of these term positions is ending.


To be eligible for the position, the candidate must be a graduate of the University of Manitoba; that is have attained a degree, diploma or certificate approved by the University of Manitoba Senate. All UM graduates are eligible to vote in the election, which is held via an online voting platform.

For more information about the Board of Governors, visit:

Board of Governors Election Timeline

Nomination Phase

Thursday, February 10 – Monday, March 14, 4:00 p.m. CT

Information gathering & confirmation of candidates phase

Tuesday, March 15 – Tuesday, April 12

Election phase

Wednesday, April 13 – Friday, May 12, 11:59 p.m. CDT

Elected candidate announcement

Wednesday, May 24

Dates to remember

Nominations open – February 10

Requests to be nominated via the Alumni Association Board – February 28, 4 p.m. CDT

Nominations close – March 14, 4 p.m. CDT

Alumni Association Board of Directors notified of candidates running – March 31

Candidates notified of who is running – April 7

Candidates announced to alumni via website – April 8

Election period begins – April 13

Election period ended – May 12, 11:59 p.m. CDT

Ballot count where all candidates and scrutineers are invited to attend – May 19, noon CDT

Notify University Secretary of successful candidate in writing & Alumni Association Board – May 19, 4 p.m. CDT

Publicly announce successful candidate – May 24

Successful candidate takes office – June 1

Processes and procedures

Contact us

Alumni Relations

Unit 200-137 Innovation Drive
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB R3T 6B6 Canada

1-800-668-4908 (toll free)
Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm