• Marcus Ng headshot
  • Associate professor

    Max Rady College of Medicine
    Internal Medicine
    Section of Neurology
    University of Manitoba
    Room GF-532, 820 Sherbrook Street
    Health Sciences Centre
    Winnipeg, Manitoba R3A 1R9

    Phone: 204-787-2684
    Twitter: @spikewhisperer


Accepting graduate students

Research themes

Research interests


Research affiliations

Research groups

Research summary

The mission of Dr. Marcus Ng’s Dreamspike Research Laboratory is to understand and apply the unique anti-epileptic properties of rapid eye movement (REM) sleep. Most dreaming occurs in REM sleep, and epileptic activity can be recorded on brainwave recordings as a spike. Where the two meet is the “dreamspike” – an event in which epileptic activity breaks through the usual calming influence of REM sleep against seizures. The goals of the laboratory are to study why this happens, and to use this knowledge to directly help patients.


Dr. Marcus Ng is a neurologist clinician-researcher who subspecializes in electroencephalography interpretation and the management of seizures and epilepsy.  His interdisciplinary research interest (e.g. sleep, neuroscience, medicine, engineering) has adopted a highly innovative interdisciplinary approach (e.g. EEG signal processing, machine learning, source localization, survey research, clinical trials) that takes the most promising set of tools from a variety of fields to tackle the fascinating enigma of why REM sleep is anti-epileptic, while making a number of serendipitous discoveries along the way. To these ends, he has supervised, co-supervised, and mentored over 40 graduate students, residents, and medical students (including BScMed and MEDII) through his active engagements with the graduate biomedical engineering, postgraduate medical, and undergraduate medical programs at the University of Manitoba.

In the past, he has also taught an introductory graduate level course on human EEG. Winning numerous awards (e.g. the inaugural national anti-NMDA receptor encephalitis foundation prize, Manitoba Neuroscience Network prize, Henry Melmed Memorial Prize, and the prestigious Young Investigator Award of the American Clinical Neurophysiology Society), current members and alumni of his Dreamspike Research Laboratory have successfully transitioned into positions throughout Canada (e.g. Calgary, London, Ottawa, Toronto) and the United States (e.g. Minnesota, Harvard).  Dr. Ng is also actively engaged in medical education as an examiner for the Canadian Society of Clinical Neurophysiologists (CSCN), Canadian Board of Registration of Electroencephalograph Technologists, and American Clinical Neurophysiology Society (ACNS).  He also serves on numerous committees for the ACNS, CSCN, Canadian Neurological Sciences Federation, Canadian League Against Epilepsy, American Epilepsy Society, American Brain Foundation, and the International Federation of Clinical Neurophysiology.

He has been invited to editorial boards of 3 international peer-reviewed medical journals, review research grants and articles for over 17 medical journals, and lecture at the National Epilepsy Review Course and the National Teaching Course on Sleep Neurology.  Further to speaking widely at academic conferences and publishing extensively in peer-reviewed journals and meeting abstracts, he is also the first-author on the first-ever dedicated clinical atlas to quantitative EEG in the intensive care unit.


  • Diplomate in Electroencephalography, CSCN(EEG), following an Epilepsy/Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship at the Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School (2014)
  • Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Canada (FRCPC), Specialist Certification in Neurology, following residency at the Memorial University of Newfoundland (2012)
  • Doctor of Medicine (MD), Special Training In Research (STIR), from the University of Alberta (2007)
  • Bachelor of Medical Science (BMSc), Physiology (Hon.), from the University of Alberta (2003)


  • 7th Asian Oceanian Congress on Clinical Neurophysiology, Travel Grant (2020)
  • American Clinical Neurophysiology Society, Fellow (2019)
  • Canadian Association of Electroneurophysiology Technologists, Presentation Awards (2016-2017)
  • Antiepileptic Drug and Device Trials XIII Conference, Junior Faculty Travel Grant (2015)
  • International League Against Epilepsy, Biennial Meeting Travel Grant (2013)
  • American Academy of Neurology, Annual Meeting Resident Scholarship (2011)
  • University of Alberta
    • Dorothy Jean Usher Memorial Summer Research Award (2005)
    • Nat Christie Award (2004)
    • Louise McKinney Scholarship (2002)
    • Ronald Stansfield Young Memorial Scholarship (2001)
  • Chemical Institute of Canada, Special Merit Award (2000)
  • University of Toronto Biology Competition, Award of Excellence (2000)
  • Transalta Corporation, Scholarship (2000)
  • Rutherford Scholar Award (2000

ResearchGate profile

Visit Marcus Ng's ResearchGate for a complete listing.

Marcus Ng's profile


Contact us

Internal Medicine
Room GC430, Health Sciences Centre
820 Sherbrook Street
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB R3A 1R9 Canada