Graphic advertising the 140th Event

Our history

The University of Manitoba’s Max Rady College of Medicine began as Western Canada’s first medical school in 1883 with 13 Manitoba physicians and one school inspector coming together to establish the Manitoba Medical College, a facility that relied on volunteer instructors and had no building to call its own. The first lecture was given November 21, 1883 by Dr. R. J. Blanchard, at the Collegiate Institute near Portage and Main, and thus begun the future of medical education in Manitoba.

Today, the Max Rady College of Medicine remains the province’s only medical school and educates and trains the majority of Manitoba’s physicians. We are known for our leadership on social accountability, EDI and anti-racism initiatives, Indigenous health, interprofessional collaboration and a robust research enterprise in the clinical and basic sciences including focus on global public health, infectious diseases and population health research.


On 140 years of medical education

Vignettes: Part I

Vignettes: Part II


Our sincere thanks to all our generous sponsors who helped make this gala such a success!

Platinum sponsors

  • Dean’s Office, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Department of Surgery
  • Doctors Manitoba
  • University Medical Group

Silver sponsors

  • Department of Community Health Sciences
  • Department of Internal Medicine
  • Department of Pediatrics & Child Health
  • Department of Psychiatry

Media sponsor

Winnipeg Free Press

Bronze sponsors

  • Manitoba Blue Cross
  • Department of Clinical Health Psychology
  • Department of Medical Microbiology & Infectious Diseases
  • Ongomiizwin - Indigenous Institute of Health and Healing

Table sponsors

Canadian Medical Association

Canadian Medical Association | MD Financial Management | Scotiabank

Centre for Advancement of Medicine

Century 21 Bachman & Associates – Rea Roussin, Realtor

Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba

Department of Biochemistry & Medical Genetics

Department of Family Medicine

Department of Human Anatomy & Cell Science

Department of Immunology

Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences

Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery

Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology

Department of Radiology

Dr. Brian Postl and Dr. Sharon Cohen-Postl

Dr. Bruce Martin and Dr. Moni Fricke

Dr. Lawrence Gillman and Dr. Belynda Salter-Oliver

George and Fay Yee Centre for Healthcare Innovation

Hôpital St-Boniface Hospital

Institute for Global Public Health

Intrinsic Analytics Inc.

Office of Community Engagement, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences

Office of the Vice-Dean (Research), Rady Faculty of Health Sciences

Office of the Vice-President (External), University of Manitoba

Winnipeg Regional Health Authority

Contact us

Rady Faculty of Health Sciences
260 Brodie Centre, 727 McDermot Avenue
University of Manitoba, Bannatyne campus
Winnipeg, MB R3E 3P5  Canada