The next election for Indigenous Senators to the University of Manitoba Senate will begin in January, 2024.

On April 7, 2021 the University of Manitoba Senate approved the addition of five Indigenousi Senators to the membership of Senate over and above any Indigenous Senators already serving on Senate as representatives for their respective Faculty and School Councils. This addition is intended to add Indigenous participation in Senate governance and is not to preclude Indigenous Senators to continue to be elected by individual Faculty and School Councils as well.

As such, and in keeping with the mechanisms available under the Standing Rules of Senate Relating to Members Elected Under Section 27 of the University of Manitoba Act,  an election is being held to select five (5) Indigenous Senators as voting members of the University of Manitoba Senate

For the first election only (Spring, 2022), the three nominees receiving the greatest number of votes will be elected for a 3-year term and the two nominees receiving the 4th and 5th number of votes respectively will be elected for a 2-year term.  These terms will be from June 1, 2022 to May 31, 2025 and May 31, 2024 respectively.  This one-time process is to ensure that there is continuity and succession planning across Senate and is in accordance with Section 27(2) of The University of Manitoba Act.

Indigenous Senators Election Timeline

November 8, 2021       Call for Nominations Opens

January 21, 2022         Nominations must be received by 12:00 PM CT

February 16, 2022        Nominees are announced to Faculty and School Councils

March 1, 2022              Voting Period Opens at 8:30 AM CT

March 21, 2022            Voting Period Closes at 4:30 PM CT

March 30, 2022            Newly elected Indigenous Senators are announced

June 1, 2022                 Senate Term Begins


i For the purposes of these elections, Indigenous means those individuals having historical continuity with pre-invasion and pre-colonial societies in Canada and their relatives across the border with the United States who regard themselves as part of the same nations (adapted from the United Nations definition of Indigenous).

Election Results


2-year terms (June 1, 2022 - May 31, 2024)

Debra Beach Ducharme

Mélanie Morris

3-year terms (June 1, 2022 - May 31, 2025)

Marcia Anderson

Margaret Hart

Jeremy Patzer