Visiting Architect Lecture Series
Sponsored by:
Allan H. Waisman (B.Arch./1950) Lectureship Endowment
Morley Blankstein (B.Arch./1949;M.Arch./1952, IIT) Lectureship Endowment
James Palmer Lewis (B.Arch./1950) Lectureship Endowment

This annual or bi-annual public lecture series will bring internationally acclaimed, practicing architects to speak at the University of Manitoba Faculty of Architecture. The goals of the lecture are:

  • To create new opportunities for students to learn from and interact with internationally renowned architectural practitioners as to their philosophies and practice,
  • To enhance the prestige of the Faculty of Architecture, and
  • To strengthen the Faculty’s ties with the Winnipeg architecture community.

Lectures will be free, open to the public, and publicized to the community and will draw on the history and development of architecture to explore current themes (i.e. sustainable design) and the impact of technology on design and architectural practice.

In order to bring in internationally acclaimed speakers, the lecture may be held bi-annually where necessary, in order for the supporting endowment funds to earn sufficient income to support the extra costs associated with some speakers.

About the lecture sponsors:
Allan H. Waisman, FRAIC (B.Arch./1950)
Mr. Waisman has been a member of two acclaimed Western Canada architectural firms: Number Ten Architectural Group in Winnipeg, and, after moving to Vancouver in 1971 he founded the firm that went on to become Architectura. Mr. Waisman has received a number of awards for his architectural work including: Urban Development Institute (UDI) Award, the Governor General Award, Canadian Architect Award, several Massey Medals for Architecture, and the Royal Architectural Institute Award. Noteworthy projects include the Vancouver International Airport Expansion; six pavillons for Expo 86 including the permanent BC Pavillon; and the Board of Trade Office Towers. Mr. Waisman was the lead architect for the Manitoba Theatre Centre, which was designated a National Historic Site in 2010.

Morley Blankstein, FRAIC, RCA (B.Arch./1949; M.Arch. 1952, IIT)
After graduating from the University of Manitoba, Mr. Blankstein completed a Masters of Architecture at the Illinois Institute of Technology studying under Mies van der Rohe. His experience there had a profound influence on his work and encouraged others to follow his lead and head south to study. The Modernist influence they brought home with them transformed architecture in Winnipeg and western Canada. In 1954 Mr. Blankstein, together with Isadore Coop (who also studied at the U of M and followed Mr. Bankstein to IIT) won a national competition for a new home for the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa, although the winning design was not built. In 1955, Morley Blankstein founded the firm that went on to become Number Ten Architecture, one of Winnipeg’s best known. Noteworthy projects include the Kildonan Park Pavilion, the City of Winnipeg Transit Garage and the Mendel Art Gallery and Conservatory in Saskatoon. In 1975 he was elected to the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts. In addition, Mr. Blankstein has made a significant contribution to his profession and his community though his work on boards and committees for numerous professional and community organizations.

James Palmer Lewis (B.Arch./1950)
His 1950 thesis, "A Study of Forces Influencing the Design of a House for the southern Manitoba Region", was a departure from standard thesis of the time and helped launch a career of designing buildings to cope with the harsh cold and glaring heat of the Canadian prairies. In 1954 Mr. Lewis studied under Frank Lloyd Wright at his design schools "Taliesin" in Wisconsin and "Taliesin West" in Arizona. Steeped in Mr. Wright’s philosophy of organic architecture, Mr. Lewis designed houses from Pennsylvania to British Columbia, as well as many public buildings. He taught at the University of Manitoba Faculty of Architecture for nearly 20 years.

est. 2015