Joys of Landscape Prize
Terms of Reference

A group of Landscape Architecture alumni from the University of Manitoba have established an annually funded prize to recognize and reward students' individual efforts to promote departmental spirit and bring a sense of fun, humour and sophistication to the dialogue of landscape architecture. Each year, beginning in 2016-2017, at least one prize of up to $1,000 will be offered to a graduate student who:

   (1) was enrolled full-time in the Faculty of Graduate Studies in the Master of Landscape
        Architecture program, delivered by the Department of Landscape
        Architecture in the year in which the award was tenable;
   (2) has achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 based on the previous 60 credit
        hours (or equivalent) of study;
   (3) works in the studio environment on a regular basis as determined and verified by a
        professor in the Department of Landscape Architecture;
   (4) demonstrates involvement in extra-curricular activities within the Faculty of Architecture;
   (5) has completed both of the following:
           (i) performed and documented a creative public act of social commentary and artistic
                expression for the benefit of a larger audience (respecting City of Winnipeg and/or
                University of Manitoba campus regulations),
           (ii) shared or distributed the "public act of expression" with the Faculty of Architecture
                 during at least one of the following forums:
                 (a) Coffee Haus,
                 (b) Ditch ball,
                 (c) a solo exhibition or presentation within Centre Space, adjoining classrooms,
                      Arch II Gallery, University Centre Gallery or other on-campus gallery,
                 (d) a Center Space gallery critique of any graduate or undergraduate studio
                      review-before or after the critique or review, without interrupting any
                      actual presentations or discussion by others,
                 (e) a spontaneous presentation.

Candidates may choose to apply on their own, or they may be nominated by another student. If nominated by another student, the nominating student must supply the required documentation as outlined below.

To be considered for the award, the following must be submitted as application to the Department of Landscape Architecture:

• written verification from a professor in the Department of Landscape Architecture indicating that the candidate meets criterion (3}-may be combined with the letter of reference (below);
• two letters of reference, one from a professor and one from a student, that indicate how the candidate meets criteria (4) through (5);
• a statement (maximum 500 words), written either by the candidate or their nominator, that indicates how the candidate meets criterion (4) (activities may include, but are not limited to: positions on student council, attending or participating in academic and social departmental or faculty events, organizing departmental or faculty events, volunteer work, etc.); • documentation (audio or visual media) that verifies that the student has completed the activities outlined in criterion (5).

Download Application Form

Application Deadline: January 4, 2021 4:00 pm

Until further notice, awards applications will only be accepted via email.
Please submit your application to


Background Information:
Every generation of students in Landscape Architecture is revolutionary. They feel as if they invented fun; as if the times they are having are the best times ever. In all cases, it is true.

It was true for Robert Fershau, Gareth Loveridge, Bob Somers, Grant Stewart, Chris Veres and Ryan Wakshinski, the creators of this scholarship. The fun times for this group culminated in a series of public expressions of social commentary and artistic vision with the tri-partite goals of raising awareness of landscape design issues on campus, boosting class morale and enthusiasm for the studio atmosphere, and just having fun. While working diligently at their studies, the group also worked diligently at bringing a Landscape Architectural edge to a variety of events: organizing bake sales to fund Landscape Architectural Student Association (LASA) endeavors; serving on LASA Council; the creation and delivery of the Manitoba Landscapes Photo Competition; participation and organization of Ditch Ball, Coffee Haus, Halloween Socials, Warehouse Journal (including editing Warehouse9); the creation of and contribution to the Berm and Swale Landscape Journal; as well as the creation of the highly impactful $5 Installation Club, to bring both levity and reflection to daily life on campus.

Although it has been widely debated, the group perhaps reached its zenith (or nadir) with 'The Boys of Landscape' (1999) a self-mocking Coffee Haus multi-media slide show of 'beefcake' images set in various locations across the University of Manitoba Fort Garry Campus. This seminal event captured the sense of fun, humour, and dedication to high quality images capturing the 'genus loci' of important campus spaces that encompassed the group's ethos, and ultimately the impetus for this scholarship. With respect to all, the spirit ofthe Boys of Landscape becomes the Joys of Landscape Scholarship in 2016.

The Joys of Landscape Scholarship/Award encourages/supports students who work equally hard at their academic endeavors and their extracurricular activities, using both as a way to foster 'school spirit' and Departmental growth. This scholarship is intended for students who try to break or question conventions. Humour is one of many methods to transform perceptions, elicit reaction, provoke thought, stimulate and encourage people to think about their context and surroundings. Design [like (the Joys of) Landscape] is powerful when it uses surprise and contrast to highlight the unexpected and seemingly opposite.

Don't forget to Thank your Donor.


Established: Senate, May 18, 2016


Past Recipients

2019 - 2020 Kathryn McCudden
2018 - 2019 Not Offered
2017 - 2018 Ian Laya
2016 - 2017 Janelle Harper