Family Medicine Contact Information

Administration

Dept. of Family Medicine
GE706, Health Sciences Centre
820 Sherbrook Street
Winnipeg, MB R3A 1R9
Tel: 204-318-2555 | Fax: 204-940-8774

Department Head
Dr. José François
Email: jose.francois@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-318-2554

Associate Head, Distributed Medical Education
Dr. Don Klassen (0.1)
Email: drdon@cwwiebemedical.ca | Tel: 204-325-4312

Associate Head, Winnipeg
Dr. Sheldon Permack (0.1)
Email: spermack1@wrha.mb.ca

Managing Director
Rob Diakiw
Email: rob.diakiw@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-789-3398

Educational Support Supervisor
Beth Lloyd
Email: beth.lloyd@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-272-3085

Communications Officer
Annette Elvers (0.6)
Email: annette.elvers@umanitoba.ca

Administrative Assistant
Maria VanDasselaar
Email: mvandasselaar@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-318-2555

Manager, Projects and Program Evaluation
Karen Grant
Email: Karen.Grant2@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-789-3386

_____________________________

Finance - Dept. of Family Medicine
S210-770 Bannatyne Ave
Winnipeg, MB R3E 3P5
Fax: 204-789-3643

Financial & Administrative Officer
Jennifer Shaw
Email: jennifer.shaw@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-594-5364

Financial Assistant
Yuki Shi
Email: yuki.shi@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-789-3859

[top]


Undergraduate Medical Education

Undergraduate Medical Education Program
Dept. of Family Medicine, University of Manitoba
P219–770 Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3E 0W3
Fax: 204-789-3894

Undergraduate Director
Dr. Amanda Condon (0.15)
Email: acondon@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-789-3795

Undergraduate Assistant Director - Clerkship
Dr. Ishani Samarasena (0.1)
Email: ishani.samarasena@umanitoba.ca

Program Assistant - Clerkship
Cathy Higham
Email: cathy.higham@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-789-3801

Program Assistant - Pre-Clerkship
Debi Prysizney
Email: debi.prysizney@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-789-3390

Education Secretary
Bernice Katz
Email: bernice.katz@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-272-3087

[top]


Postgraduate Medical Education

Postgraduate Medical Education Program
Dept. of Family Medicine, University of Manitoba
P228-770 Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3E 0W3
Fax: 204-272-3090

Postgraduate Director
Dr. Bruce Martin (0.5)
Email: bruce.martin@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-272-3186

Program Coordinator
Shannon Rankin
Email: shannon.rankin@umanitoba.ca |Tel: 204-977-5663

Education Secretary
Bernice Katz
Email: bernice.katz@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-272-3087

[top]


Postgraduate Faculty Leads

Academic Curriculum
Dr. Erica Halmarson (0.2)
Email: ehalmarson@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-938-5050

Behavioural Medicine
Dr. Opeyemi Sobowale (0.2)
Email: osobowale@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-632-3203

Resident Assessment & Evaluation
Dr. Terry McCormack (0.4)
Email: mccormack_terry@hotmail.com

Quality Improvement, Scholarship & Informatics
Dr. Alex Singer (0.2)
Email: asinger@sbgh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-237-2863

Integrative Medicine
Dr. Shandis Price (0.2)
Email: Shandis.Price@umanitoba.ca

[top]


Faculty Development

University of Manitoba
260 Brodie Centre
727 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3E 3P5

Faculty Development Director
Dr. Anita Ens (0.1)
Email: anita.ens@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-789-3321

Assistant
Bernice Katz
Email: bernice.katz@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-272-3087

[top]


Research

Research Office
Dept. of Family Medicine, University of Manitoba
3rd Floor, Chown Building
753 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg MB R3E 0T6

Research Director
Dr. Gayle Halas
Email: Gayle.Halas@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-977-5666

Research Facilitator
Leanne Kosowan
Email: Leanne.Kosowan@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-272-3086

Research Facilitator
Lisa Labine
Email: Lisa.Labine@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-489-3117

Data Manager
Bill Peeler
Email: William.Peeler@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-272-3088

Research Assistant
Sylvia Froese
Email: Sylvia.Froese@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-789-3314

[top]


Manitoba Primary Care Research Network (MaPCReN)

Research Office
Dept. of Family Medicine, University of Manitoba
3rd Floor, Chown Building
753 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg MB R3E 0T6

Network Director
Dr. Alex Singer
Email: asinger@sbgh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-237-2863

Data Manager
Bill Peeler
Email: William.Peeler@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-272-3088

Project Assistant
Sylvia Froese
Email: sylvia.froese@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-789-3314

[top]


Manitoba Strategy for Patient-Oriented Research (SPOR) - Primary & Integrated Health Care Innovation Network

Director
Dr. Gayle Halas
Email: Gayle.Halas@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-977-5666

[top]


Section of Palliative Medicine

Section Head
Dr. Mike Harlos (0.05)
Email: mharlos@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-235-3929

Program Assistant
Cidalia Hodnett
Email: chodnett@hsc.mb.ca | Tel: 204-480-1326

[top]


Residency Streams

URBAN STREAM

Family Medical Centre (FMC)

Family Medical Centre
St. Boniface Hospital
5th Floor–400 Taché Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R2H 3C3
Fax: 204-233-3053

Site Medical Lead
Dr. Gerald Konrad (0.2)
Email: gkonrad@sbgh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-789-3314

Site Education Director
Dr. Mary Jane Jamieson
Email: mjamieson@sbgh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-237-2863

Program Assistant
Susan Snusher
Email: ssnusher@sbgh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-237-2893

[top]

Kildonan Medical Centre (KMC)

Kildonan Medical Centre (KMC)
Seven Oaks General Hospital
2300 McPhillips St.
Winnipeg, MB R2V 3M3
Fax: 204-694-5697

Site Medical Lead
Dr. Tunji Fatoye
Email: tfatoye@sogh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-632-3203

Site Education Director
Dr. Opeyemi Sobowale
Tel: 204-632-3203 | Email: osobowale@wrha.mb.ca

Program Assistant
Audrey Golondrina
Email: agolondrina@sogh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-632-3207

[top]

ACCESS River East

975 Henderson Highway
Winnipeg, MB R2K 4K7
Tel: 204-938-5000
Fax: 204-938-5449

Site Medical Lead
Dr. Paul Sawchuk
Email: psawchuk@concordiahospital.mb.ca  

Site Education Director
Dr. Erica Halmarson
Email: ehalmarson@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-938-5050

Program Assistant
Audrey Golondrina
Email: agolondrina@sogh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-632-3207

[top]

__________________________________________

RURAL STREAM

Boundary Trails

Boundary Trails Health Centre
Box 2000, Station Main
Winkler, MB R6W 1H8
Fax: 204-331-8804

Site Medical Lead/Site Education Director
Dr. Bob Menzies
Email: bmenzies@mts.net | Tel: 204-822-4474

Program Assistant
Patti Rach
Email: prach@southernhealth.ca | Tel: 204-331-8987

[top]

Brandon

Brandon Regional Health Centre
150 McTavish Ave. East
Brandon, MB R7A 2B3
Fax: 204-578-4969

Site Medical Lead/ Site Education Director
Dr. Joanne Maier
Email: joannecm@live.com | Tel: 204-727-6451

Program Assistant
Jocelyn Beever
Email: jbeever@pmh-mb.ca | Tel: 204-578-4215

[top]

Parkland

Dauphin Regional Health Centre
622 3rd St. SW
Dauphin, MB R7N 1R7
Fax: 204-629-3024

Site Medical Lead/Site Education Director
Dr. Scott Kish
Email: kish@inetlink.ca | Tel: 204-638-2163

Program Assistant
Michelle Jubenville
Email: Michelle.Jubenvill@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-629-3023

[top]

Portage la Prairie

Portage Clinic
140 9th St. SE
Portage La Prairie, MB R1N 3V5
Fax: 204-239-1278

Site Medical Lead/Site Education Director
Dr. Mike Omichinski
Email: mikeomichinski@xplornet.com | Tel: 204-857-3445

Program Assistant
Kathy Egan
Email: Kathy.egan@ptgclinic.ca | Tel: 204-857-3445

[top]

Steinbach

Steinbach Family Medical Centre
10–333 Loewen Blvd.
Steinbach, MB R5G 0C3
Fax: 204-326-8885

Site Medical Lead/Site Education Director
Dr. Karen Toews
Email: karentoews@me.com | Tel: 204-326-8870

Program Assistant
Darlene Hildebrandt
Email: dhildebrandt@steinbachfamilymedical.com | Tel: 204-326-8888

[top]

__________________________________________

BILINGUAL STREAM

Centre de Santé, Accès St Boniface Access
170 rue Goulet
Winnipeg, MB. R2H0R7
Fax: 204-237-9057

Site Medical Lead/Site Education Director
Dr. Keleigh James
Email: keleigh.james@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-940-1155

Program Assistant
Yvonne Piche
Email: yvonne.piche@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-940-1499

[top]

__________________________________________

NORTHERN REMOTE STREAM

Northern Connection Medical Centre
Health Sciences Centre
Lower Level, 425 Elgin Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R3A 1P2
Fax: 204-940-4370

Site Medical Lead
Dr. Joanna Lynch
Email: jlynch@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-940-8777

Site Education Director (PGY1)
Dr. Joanna Lynch
Email: jlynch@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-940-8777

Site Education Director (PGY2)
Dr. Ian Whetter
Email: iwhetter@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-940-8777

Program Assistant (PGY1)
Kate Smith
Email: ksmith16@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-940-8401

Program Assistant (PGY2)
Jacquie Thiessen
Email: jthiessen6@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-940-1927

[top]


Enhanced Skills Program

Department of Family Medicine
University of Manitoba
701-400 Taché Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R2H 3E1
Fax: 204-233-3053

Associate Director
Dr. Edward Tan
Email: edward.tan@umanitoba.ca

Program Assistant
Collette Thiessen
Email: cthiessen4@sbgh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-237-2883

[top]

__________________________________________

FM Anaesthesia

Family Medical Centre
St. Boniface Hospital
5th Floor–400 Taché Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R2H 3C3
Fax: 204-787-4291

Assistant Director
Dr. Kevin Convery
Email: kevinconvery@mac.com | Tel: 204-787-1514

Program Assistant
Penny Godawatte
Email: pgodawatte@hsc.mb.ca | Tel: 204-787-1514

[top]

__________________________________________

Cancer Care

Family Medical Centre
St. Boniface Hospital
5th Floor–400 Taché Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R2H 3C3
Fax: 204-233-3053

Assistant Director
Dr. Jeff Sisler
Email: jeff.sisler@umanitoba.ca | Tel: 204-789-3237

Program Assistant
Collette Thiessen
Email: cthiessen4@sbgh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-237-2883

[top]

__________________________________________

Care of the Elderly & IFM Care of the Elderly

Family Medical Centre
St. Boniface Hospital
5th Floor–400 Taché Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R2H 3C3
Fax: 204-233-3053

Assistant Director
Dr. Marielle Gawryluk
Email: mgawryluk@manitoba-physicians.ca 

Program Assistant
Collette Thiessen
Email: cthiessen4@sbgh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-237-2883

[top]

__________________________________________

Emergency Medicine

Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Manitoba
NA617-700 McDermot Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R3E 0T2
Fax: 204-789-3515

Assistant Director
Dr. Al Buchel
Email: albuchel@mymts.net | Tel: 204-977-5664

Program Assistant
Collette Thiessen
Email: cthiessen4@sbgh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-237-2883

[top]

__________________________________________

Women's Health

Kildonan Medical Centre
Seven Oaks General Hospital
2300 McPhillips St.
Winnipeg, MB R2V 3M3
Fax: 204-694-5697

Assistant Director
Dr. Sarah Kredentser
Email: skredentser@sogh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-632-3203

Program Assistant
Collette Thiessen
Email: cthiessen4@sbgh.mb.ca | Tel: 204-237-2883

[top]

__________________________________________

Palliative Medicine

WRHA Palliative Care Program
A8024 – 409 Taché Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R2H 2A6
Fax: 204-233-3053

Assistant Director
Dr. Christian La Riviere
Email: clariviere@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-237-2400

Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr. Timothy Hiebert
Email: tjhiebert@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-237-2400

Rotation Coordinator
Dr. Michael Volpe
Email: mvolpe@wrha.mb.ca | Tel: 204-237-2400

Program Assistant
Cidalia Hodnett
Email: chodnett@hsc.mb.ca | Tel: 204-480-1326

[top]

__________________________________________

Sport and Exercise Medicine

Pan Am Clinic

Pan Am Clinic
75 Poseidon Bay
Winnipeg, MB R3M 3E4
Fax: 204-452-5362

Assistant Director
Dr. Hein Peters
Email: hpeters1@panamclinic.com | Tel: 204-925-7488

Program Assistant
Dana Peteleski
Email: dpeteleski@panamclinic.com | Tel: 204-452-5362

[top]

__________________________________________

Legacy Sport Medicine
160 Meadowood Dr. #14
Winnipeg, MB R2M 5L6
Fax: 204-956-1593

Assistant Director
Dr. Neil Craton
Email: craton@shaw.ca | Tel: 204-949-1099

Program Assistant
Irene Toews
Email: legacysport@mymts.net | Tel: 204-949-1099



Shantou Exchange Program

Family Medical Centre
St. Boniface Hospital
5th Floor–400 Taché Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R2H 3C3
Fax: 204-235-0341

Project Coordinator
Dr. Brent Kvern
Email: bkvern@sbgh.mb.ca
Tel: 204-237-2863
Voicemail: 204-237-2873

[top]