Shadowing contact info
We encourage students in the pre-clerkship years to take the opportunity to engage in shadow experiences. These are important to demonstrate a snapshot of life in a particular specialty, to help develop a sense of whether that specialty might be a good fit and a chance to ask questions.
Shadows are usually for a half day. Given the pre-clerkship schedule, they can occur without missing any mandatory academic sessions.
Do not be afraid to reach out to your network. We encourage students to talk with instructors/preceptors after academic sessions to request a shadow.
UGME Student Affairs is available to assist in planning and prioritizing shadow experiences that might be the best fit for you. You can contact StudentAffairsMed@umanitoba.ca to request an appointment.

The following is a list of shadowing contacts for core specialties at HSC. These departments have a centralized way to organize shadowing happening within.

Departments in HSC Contact  
Pediatrics Shedlimor Sevillo
ugme_peds@hsc.mb.ca
Internal Medicine Tammy Posillipo
tposillipo@hsc.mb.ca
Obstretics/Gynecology Joanna McDonald
jmcdonald5@hsc.mbca
Emergency  Joanna Crowther
Joanna.crowther@umanitoba.ca
Anesthesia Ingrid Heinrichs
IHEINRICHS@sbgh.mb.ca
Psychiatry Karen Simpson
ksimpson@hsc.mb.ca
Surgery Laura-Lee Bouchard
LBOUCHARD@hsc.mb.ca
Family Medicine Jana Mudra
Jana.Mudra@umanitoba.ca