Faculty & Staff

Faculty Members

Lysa Porth

Lysa Porth, MBA, PhD
Associate Dean Strategic Partnerships and Administration
Director, Warren Centre for Actuarial Studies and Research
Assistant Professor
Guy Carpenter Chair in Agricultural Risk Management and Insurance
Room 638 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-8130
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Lysa.Porth@umanitoba.ca

Xuemiao Hao

Xuemiao (Samuel) Hao, PhD, ASA
Associate Professor
Room 644 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-8710
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Xuemiao.Hao@umanitoba.ca
Website: home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~hao/

Jeffrey Pai

Jeffrey S. Pai, PhD, ASA, PStat, ACIA
Professor
L.A.H. Warren Professor
Room 640 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-6412
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Jeffrey.Pai@umanitoba.ca
Website: home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~jpai/

Hong Li
Assistant Professor
Room 638 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 296-9920
Email: li.hong@umanitoba.ca

Xikui Wang

Xikui Wang, PhD, PStat
LAH Warren Chair of Actuarial Science, Professor
Phone: (204) 474-6275
Email: Xikui_Wang@umanitoba.ca

 

Executive in Residence

Jeff Strong

Jeff Strong, BComm(Hons), FSA, FCIA
Room 362 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-8271
Corporate Actuary
Manitoba Blue Cross
Phone: (204) 955-2664
Email: strong_jeff25@yahoo.ca

 

Department Support Administrator

Jasmine Brar Jasmine Brar
Room: 648 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-7426
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Jasmine.Brar@umanitoba.ca

Adjunct Professors

Hamilton

Neil Hamilton, PhD
President and CEO
Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation
Phone: (204) 239-3277
Fax: (204) 239-3472
Email: nhamilton@masc.mb.ca

Milton Boyd

Milton Boyd, PhD
Professor
Department of Agribusiness & Agricultural Economics, University of Manitoba
Room 357 Agricuture Building
Phone: (204) 474-6031
Fax: (204) 261-7251
Email: Milton_Boyd@umanitoba.ca


Part-Time Sessional Instructors

Mike Arnold

Mike Arnold, FSA
Room: 659 Drake Centre
Phone: (416) 835-6284
CEO, Arnold Tutoring
Email: mike@arnoldtutoring.com

Jeff Strong

Jeff Strong, BComm(Hons), FSA, FCIA
Room 362 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-8271
Corporate Actuary
Manitoba Blue Cross
Phone: (204) 955-2664
Email: strong_jeff25@yahoo.ca

Justin Pursaga

Justin Pursaga, BSc, FCAS, ACAS
Manager
Actuarial Pricing - Property
The Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company
Phone: (204) 985-5608
Fax: (204) 942-7724
Email: jpursaga@wawanesa.com

Stephen Nighswander-Rempel

Stephen Nighswander-Rempel, FCIA, FSA, PhD
Actuarial Associate
Group Valuation
Great-West Life Assuarance Company
Phone: (204) 926-5201
Email: Stephen.Nighswander-Rempel@gwl.ca

 

 


Distinguished Visiting Scholars

Elias S.W. Shiu

Elias S.W. Shiu, PhD, ASA
Principal Financial Group Foundation Professor
Department of Statistics & Actuarial Science, University of Iowa
Phone: (319) 335-2580
Email: elias-shiu@uiowa.edu

Hans-Ulrich Gerber

Hans-Ulrich Gerber, PhD, ASA
Professor Emeritus
Department of Actuarial Science, Universite de Lausanne
Phone: 021 692 33 71
Email: Hans_Ulrich.Gerber@unil.ch

Michael Sherris

Michael Sherris, MBA, FIA, FIAA, FSA
Professor of Actuarial Studies
School of Actuarial Studies, University of New South Wales
Phone: +61 2 9385 2333
Email: m.sherris@unsw.edu.au

Donald F. Behan

Donald F. Behan, PhD, FSA
Independant Actuarial Consultant
Phone: (770) 645-9336
Email: dbehan@gsu.edu

Phelim Boyle

Phelim Boyle, PhD, FCIA
The Robert and Elizabeth Knight Distinguished Visitor
Wilfred Laurier Univeristy
School of Business and Economics
Waterloo, ON
Phone:(519) 884-1970 ext. 3852
Email: pbolye@wlu.ca

Mary Hardy

Mary Hardy, PhD, FIA, FSA, CERA
CIBC Chair in Financial Risk Management Associate Chair
Department of Statisitics and Actuarial Science
University of Waterloo
Phone: (519) 885-1211 ext. 35510
Email: mrhardy@waterloo.ca

Hua Chen

Hua Chen, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Risk, Insurance and Healthcare Management
The Fox School of Business
Temple University
Phone: (215) 204-5905
Email: hchen@temple.edu

Qihe Tang

Qihe Tang, PhD
Professor
Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science
University of Iowa
Phone: (319) 335-0730
Email: qihe-tang@uiowa.edu

X. Sheldon Lin

X. Sheldon Lin, PhD
Professor
Department of Statistical Sciences
University of Toronto
Phone: (416) 946-5969
Email: sheldon@utstat.utoronto.ca