University of Manitoba - Faculty of Arts - Economics - Faculty & Staff
Faculty & Staff

Department Head:

Pinaki Bose, Professor
502 Fletcher Argue Bldg.
Ph: (204) 474-9274 
Pinaki.Bose@umanitoba.ca 
________________________________________________________________________

Support Staff: 

Betty McGregor - Administrative Assistant
504 Fletcher Argue Building
Office Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm
Ph: (204) 474-6240 or 474-9274
Betty.McGregor@umanitoba.ca
 

Alan Nabess - Office Assistant
501 Fletcher Argue Building, General Office
Office Hours: 8:30am-4:30 pm
Ph: (204) 474-9207
Alan.Nabess@umanitoba.ca

Roxana Semchuk - Office Assistant
501 Fletcher Argue Building, General Office
Office Hours: 8:30am-4:30 pm
Ph: (204) 474-6239
Roxana.Semchuk@umanitoba.ca
________________________________________________________________________

Faculty: 

Baragar, Fletcher D.  Ph.D. (Utah)
Associate Professor
506 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9005
Fletcher.Baragar@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Marxian Economics; History of Economic Thought; Macroeconomics; The Manitoba Economy; Canadian Economic Policy 
________________________________________________________________________
Bose, Pinaki  Ph.D. (State Univ. of New York, Buffalo)
Professor, Department Head
502 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9274
Pinaki.Bose@umanitoba.ca
Fields: Development Economics; Microeconomics; Economics of Asymmetric Information; Game Theory
________________________________________________________________________
Brown, Laura K.  Ph.D. (Queen's)
Associate Professor
549 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9393
Laura.Brown@umanitoba.ca 
Personal Website 
Fields: International Trade; Econometrics; Labour Economics 
________________________________________________________________________
Chernomas, Robert J.  Ph.D. (New School for Social Research)
Professor
508 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9510 
Robert.Chernomas@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Heterodox Theory; Health Economics and the Economics of Health; History of Economic Thought; Economics and Psychoanalysis ________________________________________________________________________
Chuchman, George  Ph.D. (Western Ontario)
Associate Professor
509 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9364
George.Chuchman@umanitoba.ca
Fields: Energy Economics; Public Finance; Monetary Economics; Applied Microeconomics
________________________________________________________________________
Compton, Janice  Ph.D. (Washington Univ., St. Louis)
Associate Professor
515 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8471 
Janice.Compton@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Migration; Labour; Household Economics ________________________________________________________________________
Compton, Ryan A.  Ph.D. (Washington Univ., St. Louis)
Associate Professor
517 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9520 
Ryan.Compton@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Determinants of Economic Growth; Institutions; Economics of Hockey; Executive Compensation 
________________________________________________________________________
Dean, James M.  Ph.D. (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ.)
Professor 
307 St. John's College 
Ph: (204) 318-2915 
James.Dean@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Public Finance and Taxation; Property Taxes
________________________________________________________________________
Godwin, Ryan T.  Ph.D. (Victoria)
Assistant Professor
646 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 272-1534 
Ryan.Godwin@umanitoba.ca 
Field: Econometrics
________________________________________________________________________
Günay, Hikmet  Ph.D. (Iowa)
Associate Professor
511 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8915 
Hikmet.Gunay@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Industrial Organization; Economic Theory; Microeconomics ________________________________________________________________________
Hudson, Ian  Ph.D. (Manitoba)
Associate Professor
548 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9676
Ian.Hudson@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Political Economy; Ethical Consumption; Sustainable Development
________________________________________________________________________
Lipnowski, Irwin F.  Ph.D. (London School of Economics)
Associate Professor
503 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9192 
Irwin.Lipnowski@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Microeconomics; Industrial Organization; Public Finance; Applied Game Theory
________________________________________________________________________
Lobdell, Richard A.  Ph.D. (McGill)
Professor 
116 St. Paul's College 
Ph: (204) 474-7089 
Richard.Lobdell@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Economic History; Development Economics
________________________________________________________________________
Loxley, John  Ph.D. (Leeds) F.R.S.C. (London)
Professor
505 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9769 
John.Loxley@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: International Finance; International Development; Community Economic Development
________________________________________________________________________
Mann, Janelle  Ph.D. (Queen's)
Assistant Professor
556 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9275
Janelle.Mann@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Econometrics; Environmental & Resource Economics; Commodity Price Volatility & Price Risk Management; Managerial Economics  
________________________________________________________________________
Mason, Gregory C.  Ph.D. (UBC)
Associate Professor
557 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8674 
Greg.Mason@umanitoba.ca  
Fields: Program Evaluation; Cost-benefit; Public Policy 
________________________________________________________________________
Oguzoglu, Umut  Ph.D. (Guelph)
Associate Professor
647 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 480-1076
Umut.Oguzoglu@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Dyamic Panel Data Models; Economics of Disability; Applied Econometrics; Health Economics; Labour Economics
________________________________________________________________________
Ranasinghe, Ashantha  Ph.D. (Toronto)
Assistant Professor
514 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6256
Ashantha.Ranasinghe@umanitoba.ca
Fields: Macroeconomics; Economic Development ________________________________________________________________________
Sepehri-Borojeni, Ardeshir  Ph.D. (Alberta)
Professor
648 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6241 
Ardeshir.Sepehri@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Economics of Health and Developing Countries; Post-Keynesian Macroeconmics ________________________________________________________________________
Serieux, John  Ph.D. (Toronto)
Associate Professor
512 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9493 
John.Serieux@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Development Economics; International Finance; Political Economy ________________________________________________________________________
Simpson, Wayne D.  Ph.D. (London School of Economics)
Professor
518 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6174
Wayne.Simpson@umanitoba.ca  
Fields: Labour Economics; Applied Econometric Social Policy; Applied Microeconomics ________________________________________________________________________
Troutt, Elizabeth S.  Ph.D. (Wisconsin-Madison)
Associate Professor
550 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6325 
Elizabeth.Troutt@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Environmental & Resource Economics; Economics of the Non-profit Sector; Sustainable Development
________________________________________________________________________
Witt, Julia C.  Ph.D. (Guelph)
Assistant Professor
554 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9764
Julia.Witt@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Health Economics; Applied Microeconomics 
________________________________________________________________________
Yepez, Carlos  Ph.D. (Brandeis)
Assistant Professor
644 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 272-1517
Carlos.Yepez@umanitoba.ca  
Fields: International Economics and Finance; Macroeconomics; Monetary Economics
________________________________________________________________________

Adjunct Professors: 

Baksi, Soham  Ph.D. (McGill)
Adjunct Professor
University of Winnipeg

Benarroch, Michael  B.A. (Winnipeg), M.A. (Western Ontario), Ph.D. (Carleton)
Adjunct Professor 
IH Asper School of Business
University of Manitoba 

Dong, Xiao Yuan  M.A., Ph.D. (Alberta)
Adjunct Professor
University of Winnipeg

Forget, Evelyn  Ph.D. (Toronto)
Adjunct Professor
University of Manitoba
Evelyn.Forget@med.umanitoba.ca 
________________________________________________________________________ 

Professor Emeriti, Senior Scholars and Retired Faculty:

Cameron, Norman E.  Ph.D. (Michigan)
Professor Emeritus
cameron@cc.umanitoba.ca

Dhruvarajan, Periyapatna S.  Ph.D. (Northwestern)
Senior Scholar 
Periyapatna.Dhruvarajan@umanitoba.ca 

Hum, Derek  Ph.D. (Toronto)
Professor Emeritus 

Rempel, Henry  Ph.D. (Wisconsin)
Professor Emeritus 
501 Fletcher Argue Building (General Office)
Ph: (204) 474-9207 (Message Only)

Vorst, Jesajah I.  Ph.D. (Equiv.) (Netherlands School of Economics)
Senior Scholar 
381 University College
Ph: (204) 474-7129
vorst2@cc.umanitoba.ca 

Waterman, Anthony M. C.  Ph.D. (Australian National Univ.)
Professor Emeritus
314 St. John's College
Ph: (204) 474-8531
watermn@cc.umanitoba.ca 
Personal Website 
________________________________________________________________________ 

Summer 2014 Sessional Instructors: 

Abdullah, Md. - Instructor
551 Fletcher Argue Building
abdullah@cc.umanitoba.ca 
Ph: (204) 474-9890

Arzandeh, Mehdi - Instructor
519 Fletcher Argue Building
umarzand@myumanitoba.ca

Bazarkulova, Dana - Instructor
645 Fletcher Argue Building
umbazark@myumanitoba.ca

Das, Pranay - Instructor
510 Fletcher Argue Building
umdas3@cc.umanitoba.ca

Dragan, Gabi - Instructor
552 Fletcher Argue Building
draganng@cc.umanitoba.ca

Han, Jing - Instructor
510 Fletcher Argue Building
hanj@cc.umanitoba.ca

Islam, Khan Jahirul - Instructor
555 Fletcher Argue Building
islamk@myumanitoba.ca

Kalhor, Sadjad - Instructor
645 Fletcher Argue Building
Sadjad.Kalhor@umanitoba.ca

Khalid, Musah - Instructor
519 Fletcher Argue Building
Musah.Khalid@umanitoba.ca

Koto, Prosper - Instructor
551 Fletcher Argue Building
Prosper.Koto@umanitoba.ca

Sanchez, Rosa - Instructor
608 Fletcher Argue Building
umsanchr@cc.umanitoba.ca

Wainikka, Grant - Instructor
552 Fletcher Argue Building
umwainik@cc.umanitoba.ca

BACK TO TOP OF PAGE