Faculty & Staff

Department Head:

Steven Lecce  PhD (Western Ontario)
Acting Head
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor of Political Studies
502 Fletcher Argue Bldg.
Ph: (204) 474-9274 
Steven.Lecce@umanitoba.ca
________________________________________________________________________

Support Staff: 

Betty McGregor - Administrative Assistant
504 Fletcher Argue Building
Office Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm
Ph: (204) 474-6240 or 474-9274
Betty.McGregor@umanitoba.ca
 

Alan Nabess - Office Assistant
501 Fletcher Argue Building, General Office
Office Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm
Ph: (204) 474-9207
Alan.Nabess@umanitoba.ca 
________________________________________________________________________

Faculty: 

Baragar, Fletcher D.  PhD (Utah)
Associate Head
Associate Professor
506 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9005
Fletcher.Baragar@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Marxian Economics; History of Economic Thought; Macroeconomics; The Manitoba Economy; Canadian Economic Policy 
________________________________________________________________________
Bose, Pinaki  PhD (State Univ. of New York, Buffalo)
Professor
509 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9364
Pinaki.Bose@umanitoba.ca
Fields: Development Economics; Microeconomics; Economics of Asymmetric Information; Game Theory
________________________________________________________________________
Brown, Laura K.  PhD (Queen's)
Associate Professor
549 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9393
Laura.Brown@umanitoba.ca 

Fields: International Trade; Econometrics; Labour Economics 
________________________________________________________________________
Chernomas, Robert J.  PhD (New School for Social Research)
Professor
508 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9510 
Robert.Chernomas@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Heterodox Theory; Health Economics and the Economics of Health; History of Economic Thought; Economics and Psychoanalysis 
________________________________________________________________________
Compton, Janice  PhD (Washington Univ., St. Louis)
Associate Professor
515 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8471 
Janice.Compton@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Migration; Labour; Household Economics ________________________________________________________________________
Compton, Ryan A.  PhD (Washington Univ., St. Louis)
Associate Professor
517 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9520 
Ryan.Compton@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Economics
________________________________________________________________________
Godwin, Ryan T.  PhD (Victoria)
Assistant Professor
646 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 272-1534 
Ryan.Godwin@umanitoba.ca 
Field: Econometrics
________________________________________________________________________
Günay, Hikmet  PhD (Iowa)
Associate Professor
511 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8915 
Hikmet.Gunay@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Industrial Organization; Economic Theory; Microeconomics ________________________________________________________________________
Hudson, Ian  PhD (Manitoba)
Professor
548 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9676
Ian.Hudson@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Political Economy; Ethical Consumption; Sustainable Development
________________________________________________________________________
Lipnowski, Irwin F.  PhD (London School of Economics)
Associate Professor
503 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9192 
Irwin.Lipnowski@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Microeconomics; Industrial Organization; Public Finance; Applied Game Theory
________________________________________________________________________
Loxley, John  PhD (Leeds)
Professor
Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (F.R.S.C.)
505 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9769 
John.Loxley@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: International Finance; International Development; Community Economic Development
________________________________________________________________________
Mann, Janelle  PhD (Queen's)
Associate Professor
556 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9275
Janelle.Mann@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Econometrics; Environmental & Resource Economics; Commodity Price Volatility & Price Risk Management; Managerial Economics  
________________________________________________________________________
Mason, Gregory C.  PhD (UBC)
Associate Professor
557 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8674 
Gregory.Mason@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Program Evaluation; Cost-benefit; Public Policy 
________________________________________________________________________
Oguzoglu, Umut  PhD (Guelph)
Associate Professor
647 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 480-1076
Umut.Oguzoglu@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Dyamic Panel Data Models; Economics of Disability; Applied Econometrics; Health Economics; Labour Economics
________________________________________________________________________
Ranasinghe, Ashantha  PhD (Toronto)
Assistant Professor
514 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6256
Ashantha.Ranasinghe@umanitoba.ca
Fields: Macroeconomics; Economic Development ________________________________________________________________________
Sepehri-Borojeni, Ardeshir  PhD (Alberta)
Professor
648 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6241 
Ardeshir.Sepehri@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Health Economics; Macroeconomics ________________________________________________________________________
Serieux, John  PhD (Toronto)
Associate Professor
512 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9493 
John.Serieux@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Development Economics; International Finance; Political Economy ________________________________________________________________________
Simpson, Wayne D.  PhD (London School of Economics)
Associate Head
Professor
518 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6174
Wayne.Simpson@umanitoba.ca  
Fields: Labour Economics; Applied Econometric Social Policy; Applied Microeconomics ________________________________________________________________________
Troutt, Elizabeth S.  PhD (Wisconsin-Madison)
Associate Professor
550 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6325 
Elizabeth.Troutt@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Environmental & Resource Economics; Economics of the Non-profit Sector; Sustainable Development
________________________________________________________________________
Witt, Julia C.  PhD (Guelph)
Associate Professor
554 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9764
Julia.Witt@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Health Economics; Applied Microeconomics 
________________________________________________________________________
Yépez, Carlos  PhD (Brandeis)
Assistant Professor
644 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 272-1517
Carlos.Yepez@umanitoba.ca  
Fields: International Economics and Finance; Macroeconomics; Monetary Economics
________________________________________________________________________

Adjunct Professors: 

Baksi, Soham  PhD (McGill)
Adjunct Professor
University of Winnipeg

Dong, Xiao Yuan  MA, PhD (Alberta)
Adjunct Professor
University of Winnipeg

Forget, Evelyn  PhD (Toronto)
Adjunct Professor
University of Manitoba
Evelyn.Forget@med.umanitoba.ca 
________________________________________________________________________ 

Professor Emeriti, Senior Scholars and Retired Faculty:

Cameron, Norman E.  PhD (Michigan)
Professor Emeritus
cameron@cc.umanitoba.ca
 

Chuchman, George  PhD (Western Ontario)
Senior Scholar
George.Chuchman@umanitoba.ca 

Dean, James M.  PhD (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ.)
Senior Scholar
307 St. John's College
Ph: (204) 318-2915
James.Dean@umanitoba.ca 

Hum, Derek  PhD (Toronto)
Professor Emeritus

Lobdell, Richard A.  PhD (McGill)
Senior Scholar
116 St. Paul's College 
Richard.Lobdell@umanitoba.ca 

Rempel, Henry  PhD (Wisconsin)
Professor Emeritus 
501 Fletcher Argue Building (General Office)
Ph: (204) 474-9207 (Message Only)

Waterman, Anthony M. C.  PhD (Australian National Univ.)
Professor Emeritus
314 St. John's College
Ph: (204) 474-8531
Anthony.Waterman@umanitoba.ca 
________________________________________________________________________ 

Other External Appointments:

Dr. James Bryon Davies
Department of Economics
The University of Western Ontario
________________________________________________________________________ 

Summer 2017 Sessional Instructors: 

Arzandeh, Mehdi - Instructor
519 Fletcher Argue Building
umarzand@myumanitoba.ca

Chen, Hai Feng - Instructor
645 Fletcher Argue Building
Hai.Chen@umanitoba.ca 

Dragan, Nicolae Gabriel - Instructor
552 Fletcher Argue Building
Nicolae.Dragan@umanitoba.ca

Ebeid, Mohamed - Instructor
608 Fletcher Argue Building
Mohamed.Ebeid@umanitoba.ca 

Kalhor, Sadjad - Instructor
601 Fletcher Argue Building
Sadjad.Kalhor@umanitoba.ca 

Khalid, Musah - Instructor
519 Fletcher Argue Building
Musah.Khalid@umanitoba.ca 

Sanchez, Rosa - Instructor
608 Fletcher Argue Building
umsanchr@myumanitoba.ca

Scarlett, Hubert - Instructor
553 Fletcher Argue Building
scarleth@myumanitoba.ca

Uddin, Md. Taslim - Instructor
138 Fletcher Argue Building
uddinm34@myumanitoba.ca

Wainikka, Grant - Instructor
686 Drake Building
Grant.Wainikka@umanitoba.ca 

BACK TO TOP OF PAGE