Faculty & Staff

Department Head:

Simpson, Wayne D.  PhD (London School of Economics)
Acting Head
Professor
502  Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6174
Wayne.Simpson@umanitoba.ca  
Fields: Labour Economics; Applied Econometric Social Policy; Applied Microeconomics

 ________________________________________________________________________

Support Staff: 

Betty McGregor - Administrative Assistant
504 Fletcher Argue Building
Office Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm
Ph: (204) 474-6240 or 474-9274
Betty.McGregor@umanitoba.ca
 

General Office
501 Fletcher Argue Building
Office Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm
Ph: (204) 474-9207 
________________________________________________________________________

Economics and Society Stream Faculty Members

Economics and Econometrics Stream Faculty Members

Adjunct Professors

Professor Emeriti, Senior Scholars, and Retired Faculty Members

Other External Appointments

Sessionals


Economics and Society Stream Faculty Members

Baragar, Fletcher D.  PhD (Utah)
Associate Head (Economics and Society Stream)
Associate Professor
506 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9005
Fletcher.Baragar@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Marxian Economics; History of Economic Thought; Macroeconomics; The Manitoba Economy; Canadian Economic Policy 
________________________________________________________________________
Chernomas, Robert J.  PhD (New School for Social Research)
Professor
508 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9510 
Robert.Chernomas@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Heterodox Theory; Health Economics and the Economics of Health; History of Economic Thought; Economics and Psychoanalysis 
________________________________________________________________________
Hajer, Jesse  PhD Candidate (The New School)
Lecturer
517 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9057
Jesse.Hajer@umanitoba.ca
__________________________________________________________ 
Hudson, Ian  PhD (Manitoba)
Professor
548 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9676
Ian.Hudson@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Political Economy; Ethical Consumption; Sustainable Development
________________________________________________________________________
Lipnowski, Irwin F.  PhD (London School of Economics)
Associate Professor
503 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9192 
Irwin.Lipnowski@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Microeconomics; Industrial Organization; Public Finance; Applied Game Theory
________________________________________________________________________
Loxley, John  PhD (Leeds)
Professor
Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (F.R.S.C.)
505 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9769 
John.Loxley@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: International Finance; International Development; Community Economic Development
________________________________________________________________________
Sepehri-Borojeni, Ardeshir  PhD (Alberta)
Professor
648 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6241 
Ardeshir.Sepehri@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Health Economics; Macroeconomics
________________________________________________________________________
Serieux, John  PhD (Toronto)
Associate Professor
512 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9493 
John.Serieux@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Development Economics; International Finance; Political Economy


Economics and Econometrics Stream Faculty Members

Bose, Pinaki  PhD (State Univ. of New York, Buffalo)
Professor
509 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9364
Pinaki.Bose@umanitoba.ca
Fields: Development Economics; Microeconomics; Economics of Asymmetric Information; Game Theory
________________________________________________________________________
Brown, Laura K.  PhD (Queen's)
Professor
549 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9393
Laura.Brown@umanitoba.ca 

Fields: Economics of Gender; Labour Economics; Environmental Economics; International Trade
________________________________________________________________________
Compton, Janice  PhD (Washington Univ., St. Louis)
Associate Head (Economic and Econometrics Stream)
Associate Professor
515 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8471 
Janice.Compton@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Migration; Labour; Household Economics
________________________________________________________________________
Compton, Ryan A.  PhD (Washington Univ., St. Louis)
Professor
517 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9520 
Ryan.Compton@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Economics
________________________________________________________________________
Godwin, Ryan T.  PhD (Victoria)
Associate  Professor
646 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 272-1534 
Ryan.Godwin@umanitoba.ca 
Field: Econometrics
________________________________________________________________________
Günay, Hikmet  PhD (Iowa)
Professor
511 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8915 
Hikmet.Gunay@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Industrial Organization; Economic Theory; Microeconomics
__________________________________________________________________
 
Mann, Janelle  PhD (Queen's)
Associate Professor
556 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9275
Janelle.Mann@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Econometrics; Environmental & Resource Economics; Commodity Price Volatility & Price Risk Management
________________________________________________________________________
Mason, Gregory C.  PhD (UBC)
Associate Professor
557 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8674 
Gregory.Mason@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Program Evaluation; Cost-benefit; Public Policy 
________________________________________________________________________
Oguzoglu, Umut  PhD (Guelph)
Associate Professor
647 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 480-1076
Umut.Oguzoglu@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Dyamic Panel Data Models; Economics of Disability; Applied Econometrics; Health Economics; Labour Economics
________________________________________________________________________
Saberian, Soodeh PhD (Ottawa)
Assistant Professor
514 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph. (204) 474-6256
mailto:%20Soodeh.SaberianRanjbar@umanitoba.ca
_______________________________________________________________________
Simpson, Wayne D.  PhD (London School of Economics)
Associate Head
Professor
502 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6174
Wayne.Simpson@umanitoba.ca  
Fields: Labour Economics; Applied Econometric Social Policy; Applied Microeconomics
________________________________________________________________________
Troutt, Elizabeth S.  PhD (Wisconsin-Madison)
Professor
550 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6325 
Elizabeth.Troutt@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Environmental economics; Ecological economics, sustainability, & sustainable development; Gender and pay equity; Property rights and institutions; Economics of the nonprofit and voluntary sector
________________________________________________________________________
Witt, Julia C.  PhD (Guelph)
Associate Professor
554 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9764
Julia.Witt@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Health Economics; Applied Microeconomics 
________________________________________________________________________
Yépez, Carlos  PhD (Brandeis)
Assistant Professor
644 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 272-1517
Carlos.Yepez@umanitoba.ca  
Fields: International Economics and Finance; Macroeconomics; Monetary Economics


Adjunct Professors: 

Baksi, Soham  PhD (McGill)
Adjunct Professor
University of Winnipeg

Dong, Xiao Yuan  MA, PhD (Alberta)
Adjunct Professor
University of Winnipeg

Forget, Evelyn  PhD (Toronto)
Adjunct Professor
University of Manitoba
Evelyn.Forget@med.umanitoba.ca 
________________________________________________________________________ 

Professor Emeriti, Senior Scholars and Retired Faculty:

Cameron, Norman E.  PhD (Michigan)
Professor Emeritus
cameron@cc.umanitoba.ca
 

Dean, James M.  PhD (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ.)
Senior Scholar
307 St. John's College
Ph: (204) 318-2915
James.Dean@umanitoba.ca 

Hum, Derek  PhD (Toronto)
Professor Emeritus

Lobdell, Richard A.  PhD (McGill)
Senior Scholar
116 St. Paul's College 
Richard.Lobdell@umanitoba.ca 

Rempel, Henry  PhD (Wisconsin)
Professor Emeritus 
501 Fletcher Argue Building (General Office)
Ph: (204) 474-9207 (Message Only)

Waterman, Anthony M. C.  PhD (Australian National Univ.)
Professor Emeritus
314 St. John's College
Ph: (204) 474-8531
mailto:watermn@cc.umanitoba.ca 
________________________________________________________________________ 

Other External Appointments:

Dr. James Bryon Davies

Department of Economics
The University of Western Ontario
________________________________________________________________________ 

Fall 2018 / Winter 2019 Sessional Instructors

Cai, Wenbiao - Instructor/Associate Professor (U Winnipeg)
604 Fletcher Argue Building
Wenbiao.Cai@umanitoba.ca

Chen, Hai Feng - Instructor
645 Fletcher Argue Building
Hai.Chen@umanitoba.ca

Daycock, Davis - Instructor (Winter Term)
Room TBA, Fletcher Argue Building
davisday@mts.net

Dragan, Nicolae Gabriel - Instructor
552 Fletcher Argue Building
Nicolae.Dragan@umanitoba.ca

Dzikpe, Francis Kwami - Distance Education Instructor
Room 519 Fletcher Argue Building
Francis.Dzikpe@umanitoba.ca

Ebeid, Mohamed - Instructor
608 Fletcher Argue Building
Mohamed.Ebeid@umanitoba.ca 

Islam, Farhan - Instructor
Room TBA, Fletcher Argue Building
Farhan.Islam@umanitoba.ca

Kalhor, Sadjad - Instructor
555 Fletcher Argue Building
Sadjad.Kalhor@umanitoba.ca
 

Rodriquez LLorian, Lisabet - Instructor
551 Fletcher Argue Building
Elisabet.RodriquezLlorian@umanitoba.ca

Sarker, Bibhuti - Distance Education Instructor
608 Fletcher Argue Building
Bibhuti.Sarker@umanitoba.ca


Tougher, Sara - Instructor
645 Fletcher Argue Building
Sarah.Tougher@umanitoba.ca

Uddin, Mohammad Taslim - Instructor
519 Fletcher Argue Building
uddinm34@myumanitoba.ca

 

 

BACK TO TOP OF PAGE