Faculty & Staff

Department Head:

Hudson, Ian  PhD (Manitoba)
Professor
502 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9274
Ian.Hudson@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Political Economy; Ethical Consumption; Sustainable Development
 ________________________________________________________________________

Support Staff: 

Betty McGregor - Administrative Assistant
504 Fletcher Argue Building
Office Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm
Ph: (204) 474-6240 or 474-9274
Betty.McGregor@umanitoba.ca
 

Erin Parsons, Office Assistant, General Office
501 Fletcher Argue Building
Office Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm
Ph: (204) 474-9207
Erin.Parsons@umanitoba.ca  

________________________________________________________________________

Economics and Society Stream Faculty Members

Economics and Econometrics Stream Faculty Members

Adjunct Professors

Professor Emeriti, Senior Scholars, and Retired Faculty Members

Other External Appointments

Sessionals


Economics and Society Stream Faculty Members

Baragar, Fletcher D.  PhD (Utah)
Associate Head (Economics and Society Stream)
Associate Professor
506 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9005
Fletcher.Baragar@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Marxian Economics; History of Economic Thought; Macroeconomics; The Manitoba Economy; Canadian Economic Policy 
________________________________________________________________________
Chernomas, Robert J.  PhD (New School for Social Research)
Professor
508 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9510 
Robert.Chernomas@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Heterodox Theory; Health Economics and the Economics of Health; History of Economic Thought; Economics and Psychoanalysis 
________________________________________________________________________
Hajer, Jesse  PhD  (The New School, New York City)
Assistant Professor
517 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9057
Jesse.Hajer@umanitoba.ca
__________________________________________________________ 
Hudson, Ian  PhD (Manitoba)
Professor
548 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9676
Ian.Hudson@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Political Economy; Ethical Consumption; Sustainable Development
________________________________________________________________________
Lipnowski, Irwin F.  PhD (London School of Economics)
Associate Professor
503 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9192 
Irwin.Lipnowski@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Microeconomics; Industrial Organization; Public Finance; Applied Game Theory
________________________________________________________________________
Loxley, John  PhD (Leeds)
Professor
Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (F.R.S.C.)
John Loxley suddenly passed away in the summer of 2020.
https://news.umanitoba.ca/john-loxley-canadas-economist-answer-to-robin-hood-has-died/
________________________________________________________________________
Sepehri-Borojeni, Ardeshir  PhD (Alberta)
Professor
648 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6241 
Ardeshir.Sepehri@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Health Economics; Macroeconomics
________________________________________________________________________
Serieux, John  PhD (Toronto)
Professor
512 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9493 
John.Serieux@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Development Economics; International Finance; Political Economy


Economics and Econometrics Stream Faculty Members

Bose, Pinaki  PhD (State Univ. of New York, Buffalo)
Professor
509 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9364
Pinaki.Bose@umanitoba.ca
Fields: Development Economics; Microeconomics; Economics of Asymmetric Information; Game Theory
________________________________________________________________________
Brown, Laura K.  PhD (Queen's)
Professor
549 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9393
Laura.Brown@umanitoba.ca 

Fields: Economics of Gender; Labour Economics; Environmental Economics; International Trade
________________________________________________________________________
Compton, Janice  PhD (Washington University)
Associate Head (Economic and Econometrics Stream)
Associate Professor
515 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8471 
Janice.Compton@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Migration; Labour; Household Economics
________________________________________________________________________
Compton, Ryan A.  PhD (Washington University)
Professor 
643 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9520 
Ryan.Compton@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Economics, Development, Defence Economics                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
________________________________________________________________________
Gallacher, Guillermo PhD (University of Washington)
Assistant Professor
641 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8145
Guillermo.Gallacher@umanitoba.ca
Fields: Macroeconomics, International Economics, Development
________________________________________________________________________
Godwin, Ryan T.  PhD (Victoria)
Associate  Professor
646 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 272-1534 
Ryan.Godwin@umanitoba.ca 
Field: Econometrics
________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Günay, Hikmet  PhD (University of Iowa)
Professor
511 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8915
Hikmet.Gunay@umanitoba.ca 
Field: Industrial Organization, Economic Theory, Microeconomics
________________________________________________________________________
 
Mann, Janelle  PhD (Queen's)
Associate Professor
556 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9275
Janelle.Mann@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Econometrics; Environmental & Resource Economics; Commodity Price Volatility & Price Risk Management
________________________________________________________________________
Mason, Gregory C.  PhD (UBC)
Associate Professor
557 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-8674 
Gregory.Mason@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Program Evaluation; Cost-benefit; Public Policy 
________________________________________________________________________
Oguzoglu, Umut  PhD (Guelph)
Associate Professor
647 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 480-1076
Umut.Oguzoglu@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Dyamic Panel Data Models; Economics of Disability; Applied Econometrics; Health Economics; Labour Economics
________________________________________________________________________
Saberian, Soodeh PhD (Ottawa)
Assistant Professor
514 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph. (204) 474-6256
Soodeh.Saberian@umanitoba.ca
_______________________________________________________________________
Simpson, Wayne D. PhD (London School of Economics)
Professor
542 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6174
Wayne.Simpson@umanitoba.ca  
Fields: Labour Economics; Applied Econometric Social Policy; Applied Microeconomics
________________________________________________________________________
Troutt, Elizabeth S.  PhD (Wisconsin-Madison)
Professor
550 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-6325 
Elizabeth.Troutt@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Environmental economics; Ecological economics, sustainability, & sustainable development; Gender and pay equity; Property rights and institutions; Economics of the nonprofit and voluntary sector
________________________________________________________________________
Witt, Julia C.  PhD (Guelph)
Associate Professor
554 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 474-9764
Julia.Witt@umanitoba.ca 
Fields: Health Economics; Applied Microeconomics 
________________________________________________________________________
Yépez, Carlos PhD (Brandeis)
Associate Professor
644 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph: (204) 272-1517 
Carlos.Yepez@umanitoba.ca  
Fields: International Economics and Finance; Macroeconomics; Monetary Economics
________________________________________________________________________
Zaresani, Arezou PhD (University of Calgary)
Assistant Professor
Arezou.Zaresani@umanitoba.ca
Fields: Public Economics; Labour Economics; Health Economics ________________________________________________________________________

 

Adjunct Professors: 

 

 

Baksi, Soham  PhD (McGill)
Adjunct Professor
University of Winnipeg

Dong, Xiao Yuan  MA, PhD (Alberta)
Adjunct Professor
University of Winnipeg

Forget, Evelyn  PhD (Toronto)
Adjunct Professor
University of Manitoba
Evelyn.Forget@med.umanitoba.ca 
________________________________________________________________________ 

Professor Emeriti, Senior Scholars and Retired Faculty:

Cameron, Norman E.  PhD (Michigan)
Professor Emeritus
cameron@cc.umanitoba.ca
 

Dean, James  PhD (Virginia Polytechnic)
Retired
James.Dean@umr.umanitoba.ca

Hum, Derek  PhD (Toronto)
Professor Emeritus

Lobdell, Richard A.  PhD (McGill)
Senior Scholar
116 St. Paul's College 
Richard.Lobdell@umanitoba.ca 

Rempel, Henry  PhD (Wisconsin)
Professor Emeritus 
501 Fletcher Argue Building (General Office)
Ph: (204) 474-9207 (Message Only)

Waterman, Anthony M. C.  PhD (Australian National Univ.)
Professor Emeritus
314 St. John's College
Ph: (204) 474-8531
mailto:watermn@cc.umanitoba.ca 
________________________________________________________________________ 

Other External Appointments:

________________________________________________________________________ 

Fall 2020 / Winter 2021 Sessional Instructors

Abdullah, MD - Instructor
Fletcher Argue Building
Md.Abdullah@umanitoba.ca

Daycock, Davis - Instructor (Winter Term)
Fletcher Argue Building
davisday@mts.net

Dragan, Nicolae Gabriel - Instructor
552 Fletcher Argue Building
Nicolae.Dragan@umanitoba.ca

Dzikpe, Francis Kwami - Instructor
519 Fletcher Argue Building
Francis.Dzikpe@umanitoba.ca

Frimpong, Jennifer - Distance Education Instructor (F2020)
551 Fletcher Argue Building
frimponj@myumanitoba.ca

Jahan, Nusrat - Distance Education Instructor (F2020)
553 Fletcher Argue Building
nusrat.jahan@umanitoba.ca

Khalid, Musah - Instructor
Fletcher Argue Building
Musah.Khalid@umanitoba.ca
 

Noor, Thuhid - Instructor
553 Fletcher Argue Building
noormt@myumanitoba.ca

Sanchez, Rosa - Instructor
548 Fletcher Argue Building
Rosa.SanchezGarcia@umanitoba.ca

Sarker, Bibhuti - Distance Education Instructor (F2020)
608 Fletcher Argue Building
Bibhuti.Sarker@umanitoba.ca

Taheri, Siavash - Distance Education Instructor (F2020)
510 Fletcher Argue Building
taheris@myumanitoba.ca

Villa Perez, Edgar - Instructor
Fletcher Argue Building
Edgar.VillaPerez@umanitoba.ca

Wainikka, Grant - Instructor
Fletcher Argue Building
grant@ibam.mb.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BACK TO TOP OF PAGE