The Department of Geological Sciences was founded in 1910 and is western Canada's oldest geoscience department. It has built a reputation for its research contributions, excellence in teaching, and commitment to the geoscientific community.

Recognized as one of Canada's leading geoscience units, we are a dynamic and diverse group interested in a broad range of research in the geological sciences.  We offer balanced undergraduate programs leading to a Bachelor of Science in Geological Sciences, Geology (Honors and Major Program) or Geophysics (Honors and Major Program), and thesis-based Master’s and Ph.D. programs.

The Department houses research laboratories with state of the art equipment in excess of $11 million. We also maintain two museums, the R.B. Ferguson Museum of Mineralogy and the Ed Leith Cretaceous Menagerie, and an earthquake seismograph -- all open to the university community and the public.

Please explore our website to discover more about the Department of Geological Sciences.