Holiday Closures
January 1, 2019 to January 1, 2020

Holiday

Date Observed

New Year’s Day Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Louis Riel Day Monday, February 18
Good Friday Friday, April 19
Victoria Day Monday, May 20
Canada Day Monday, July 1
Terry Fox Day Monday, August 5
Labour Day Monday, September 2
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 14
Remembrance Day Monday, November 11
Christmas - New Year's Break    Monday, December 23, 2019 to January 1, 2020 (last working day is Dec. 20; university re-opens Jan. 2) 

Closure Calendar 2018-19

* NOTE: Friday, December 27, 2019, Monday, December 30, 2019 and Tuesday, December 31, 2019 are considered paid “Vacation Entitlement” days that the University provides to eligible employees. Some employees may have these days rescheduled by their departments given appropriate notice. Your HR Consultant should be contacted in cases where these days are to be rescheduled.

Eligibility for Christmas & New Year's Break (2019/2020)

Compensation Group 2 x ½ days before Christmas & New Year’s Christmas & New Year’s Boxing Day Floating Holiday Vacation Entitlement Days Total Days Paid
AESES, CUPE 1482 1 day 2 days 1 day 1 day 3 days 8 days
CUPE 3909 (Sessionals) * n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a see note below
CUPE 3909 (Librarians, Counsellors, Music Teachers) 1 day 2 days  1 day 1 day n/a 5 days
CUPE 3909 (Students - Grader/Marker, TAs, Demonstrator, Tutor, Seminar Leader) n/a 2 days n/a n/a n/a 2 days
CUPE 3909 (Students - Lecturer/Instructor, Distance and Online Lecturer/Instructor)* n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a see note below
EMAPS & Medical/Dental Practitioners 1 day 2 days 1 day 1 day 3 days 8 days
Other Academics, Research Associates, Post-Doc Fellows 1 day 2 days 1 day 1 day 3 days 8 days
UMFA 1 day 2 days 1 day 1 day 3 days 8 days
UNIFOR 1 day 2 days 1 day 1 day 3 days 8 days


 * CUPE 3909 (Sessionals and Student - Lecturer/Instructor and Distance/Online Lecturer/Instructor): stat holiday pay is included in stipend