Holiday Closures
January 1, 2017 to January 1, 2018

Holiday

Date Observed

New Year’s Day Monday, January 2, 2017
Louis Riel Day Monday, February 20
Good Friday Friday, April 14
Victoria Day Monday, May 22
Canada Day Monday, July 3
Terry Fox Day Monday, August 7
Labour Day Monday, September 4
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 9
Remembrance Day Monday, November 13
Christmas - New Year's Break    Friday, December 22 to January 1, 2018  

Closure Dates

* December 27 —December 29, 2017 are considered paid “Vacation Entitlement” days that the University provides to eligible employees. Some employees may have these days rescheduled by their departments given appropriate notice. Your HR Consultant should be contacted in cases where these days are to be rescheduled.

Eligibility for Christmas & New Year's Break

Compensation Group Christmas & New Year’s Boxing Day Floating Holiday Vacation Entitlement Days  Total Days Paid
AESES, CUPE 1482 2 days 1 day 1 day 3 days 7 days
CUPE 3909 (Sessionals) *  n/a n/a n/a n/a see note below
CUPE 3909 (Librarians, Counsellors, Music Teachers) 2 days    1 day 1 day n/a 4 days
CUPE 3909 (Students) 2 days n/a n/a n/a 2 days
EMAPS & Medical/Dental Practitioners 2 days 1 day 1 day 3 days 7 days
Other Academics, Research Associates, Post-Doc Fellows 2 days 1 day 1 day 3 days 7 days
UMFA 2 days 1 day 1 day 3 days 7 days
UNIFOR 2 days 1 day 1 day 3 days 7 days


 * CUPE 3909 (Sessionals): stat holiday pay is included in sessional stipend