Faculty & Residents

Dr. Edward W. Buchel


Regional Lead, Section of Plastic Surgery
Associate Professor of Surgery

Dr. Edward Buchel has been a practicing surgeon for over 10 years.  He completed his medical degree and internship at University of Manitoba before going to St. Vincent’s Hospital in New York for his general surgery residency.  He completed his plastic surgery residency at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.  He later was attending staff at the Mayo Clinic Medical School as well as serving as Program Director, Plastic Surgery Microvascular Fellowship.
In 2004, Dr. Buchel returned to Manitoba as an Associate Professor of Surgery and Head of the Section of Plastic Surgery, Faculty of Medicine at University of Manitoba and Winnipeg Regional Health Authority.  He is Deputy Chair of Surgery for the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority, the Medical Site Leader of the Surgery Program at Health Sciences Centre and served as Program Director for the Section of Plastic Surgery at the University of Manitoba until February 2009.  Dr. Buchel sits on the Editorial Boards of Canadian Journal of Surgery and Microsurgery.
He has been involved in developing the Breast Reconstruction Team since its inception in 2004.

Dr. Avinash Islur
Program Director, Section of Plastic Surgery
Associate Professor of Surgery

Dr. Avi Islur is a Plastic & Reconstructive Surgeon who specializes in cosmetic and reconstructive surgery.
  • Board certified in Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery by The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
  • Member of The Canadian Society of Plastic Surgery
  • Chief of Plastic Surgery at St. Boniface General Hospital
  • Program Director of the Plastic Surgery Residency training program at the University of Manitoba
  • Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Medicine, University of Manitoba
  • On the editorial board for the journal Microsurgery
  • Reviewer for the Canadian Journal of Plastic Surgery

Dr. Islur was born and raised in Toronto, Ontario. Throughout his life, Dr. Islur has studied all forms of art and has carried this passion and study into his career.

Dr. Islur received his bachelor of science degree in biology at The University of Western Ontario in 1998. He then obtained his medical degree from The University of Toronto in 2002.  He completed his residency in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery at The University of Manitoba in 2007.  Additional sub-specialty training in 2008 was completed in San Francisco at the prestigious Buncke Clinic.  He is currently practicing in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

He is a published author of articles and book chapters in plastic surgery, reconstructive surgery and microsurgery literature.  He has presented research at national and international reconstructive and plastic surgery conferences.  Dr. Islur travels regularly, visiting with leaders in the field of reconstructive and cosmetic plastic surgery to teach and exchange surgical information.  He is constantly refining his techniques and operates with the most advanced technology available on the market.

Professors in the Department of Plastic Surgery

Dr. Leif Sigurdson
Associate Professor of Surgery
Dr. Kenneth A. Murray
Professor of Surgery
Associate Professor of Surgery
Dr. G. Balbir Singh
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Dr. Thomas E.J. Hayakawa
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Dr. Lonny L. Ross
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Dr. Jennifer Giuffre
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Dr. Kenneth Dolynchuk
Associate Professor of Surgery
Dr. Robert Turner
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Dr. Anthony Lockwood
Associate Professor of Surgery
Dr. Jyoti McGregor
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Dr. Christian Petropolis
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Dr. Ryan Mitchell
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Plastic Surgery Residents, U of M:
Michal Brichacek - PGY5
Robert (Andrew) Strazar - PGY5
Joshua Vorstenbosch - PGY4
Blair Peters - PGY4
Julian Diaz Abele - PGY3
Graham McLeod - PGY3
Rowan Chandler - PGY2
Christopher Nguyen - PGY2
Lindsay Wainwright - PGY1
Jessica Winter - PGY1
Reconstructive Microsurgery Fellow, U of M
Dr. Colin White (2013) - McMaster University
Dr. Aaron Grant (2013) - Western University
Dr. Jing Zhang (2014) - University of Toronto
Dr. Omodele Ayeni (2014) - Western University
Dr. Peter Davison (2015) - Dalhousie University
Dr. Christopher Price (2015) - University of Cape Town, South Africa
Dr. Nakul Patel (2016) - University Hospitals of Leicester, UK
Dr. Romy Ahluwalia (2016) - Western University
Dr. Vani Prasad Atluri (2017) - Australia APHRA
Dr. Kate Elzinga (2017) - University of Alberta