Neuropharmacology & Neurodegenerative Disorders
Current Topics:
  • How does cellular calcium regulation change in Alzheimer’s Disease and diabetes?
  • What are the mechanisms of synaptic plasticity and how do they translate into learning and memory?
  • How is synaptic plasticity and its impact on animal behaviour altered in neurodegenerative disorders?
  • What is the role of the DNA repair enzyme PARP in stroke and Multiple Sclerosis?
  • What are the mechanisms of nerve degeneration in types 1 and 2 diabetes?
  • How are adenine nucleotide levels regulated in normal brain and in cerebral ischemia?
  • What is the structure and function of the blood brain barrier?
  • How do astrocytes participate in synaptic function and cerebral blood flow regulation?
  • What is the role of astrocyte D-serine in neuronal injury in stroke and trauma?
  • Are adenosine receptors viable therapeutic targets for CNS inflammation in Multiple Sclerosis?
  • Can MRI imaging protocols be developed for early diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease?

Faculty Involved:

 Ben Albensi, Ph.D.   balbensi@sbrc.ca
 Chris Anderson, Ph.D.   chris.anderson@umanitoba.ca
  Paul Fernyhough, Ph.D.  pfernyhough@sbrc.ca
 Gordon Glazner, Ph.D.  gglazner@sbrc.ca
 Michael F. Jackson, Ph.D.  michael.jackson@umanitoba.ca
 Sachin Katyal, Ph.D.  sachin.katyal@umanitoba.ca
 Tiina Kauppinen, Ph.D.  tiina.kauppinen@umanitoba.ca
 Frank LaBella, Ph.D.  labella@shaw.ca
 Melanie Martin, Ph.D.  m.martin@uwinnipeg.ca
 Don Miller, Ph.D.  donald.miller@umanitoba.ca
 Jun-Feng Wang, Ph.D.  jun-feng.wang@umanitoba.ca