WestCAST 2018
Contemporary Classrooms as Complex Spaces

Speakers and Performers

 Feb. 21-23, 2018, Faculty of Education, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg

Keynote Speakers:


Dr. Duane Brothers

Brothers has taught at the early, middle-, and high-school levels before serving as a principal and a district principal of Planning, Research, and Technology with the Coquitlam School District in B.C. He returned to Winnipeg in 2001 and has served as an assistant superintendent with the Seven Oaks School Division, superintendent with the Sunrise School Division, and is currently serving as superintendent of Louis Riel School Division.
As a facilitator and speaker, Brothers has worked in British Columbia, Manitoba, the USA, and Mexico in the areas of race-relations education, organizational improvement and leadership. He also served on the Board of the National Faculty of the National Principals Leadership Institute in NYC, the executive of the Manitoba Association of School Superintendents and has completed his doctorate in educational administration at the University of Manitoba. The title of his thesis is Conceptualizations of Complex, Racialized Poverty, Social Exclusion and Education.


Pauline Clarke

Pauline Clarke has been chief superintendent of Winnipeg School Division (WSD) since 2008. Prior to that, she held several senior-administration WSD positions, including 18 years as the superintendent of schools, inner-city district. She trained as a teacher in England and has worked in WSD as a teacher, vice-principal and principal prior to her work in the division's senior administration.

Clarke has served on many community boards and committees reflecting her passion and commitment to meeting the needs of students and families. These include the Premier’s Advisory Council on Education and Poverty and the United Way Campaign Cabinet. Presently, she is a member of the Winnipeg Poverty Reduction Council, a table officer of the Manitoba Association of School Superintendents, a member of the President’s Advisory Council of the University of Manitoba Advisory Committee on Indigenous Achievement, Mayor Brian Bowman’s Winnipeg Promise Initiative, and the C21 Canada CEO Academy: Canadians for 21st Century Learning and Innovation. She holds a master of education degree in educational administration.
In 2005,  Clarke was recognized by the YMCA-YWCA as Winnipeg’s Woman of Distinction for her service to education, training and development, and in 2012 was awarded the Order of Manitoba in recognition of her work in education.


Dr. Niigaan James Sinclair

Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair is Anishinaabe (St. Peter’s/Little Peguis) and an associate professor at the University of Manitoba. He is an award-winning writer, editor and activist who was named one of Monocle magazine's “Canada’s Top 20 Most Influential People” and one of the CBC Manitoba’s “Top Forty Under Forty.” He is a regular commentator on Indigenous issues on CTV, CBC, and APTN, and his written work can be found in the pages of newspapers like The Globe and Mail and online with CBC Books: Canada Writes. His first book on Anishinaabeg literary traditions will be coming out with the University of Minnesota Press in 2018.

 WestCAST 2018 - imagine - design - enact