The Senate is the University's senior academic governing body. Its membership includes: the Chancellor, the President and the Vice-Presidents of the University, Deans of Faculties, Directors of Schools, Faculty members elected by Faculty and School Councils, students elected by the students and representatives of the Board of Governors and the Alumni Association.

The Senate has authority to determine matters of an academic nature, as described in The University of Manitoba Act. The Senate also has the authority to recommend on certain matters to the Board of Governors. The President and Vice-Chancellor is the Chair of Senate, and the Provost and Vice-President (Academic) is the Vice Chair of Senate. The Senate meets monthly from October to June.

Further information on the Senate may be found by following the links on the left-hand side of this page.