

## **UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA**

## **SENATE COMPOSITION**

## Membership of senate

- 26(1) The senate shall be composed of
  - (a) the president;
  - (b) the chancellor;
  - (c) the vice-presidents of the university;
  - (d) the dean of each faculty of the university;
  - (e) the director of each school of the university having a school council;
  - (f) the Director of Extension of the university or, if none, the officer exercising comparable functions;
  - (g) the Director of Libraries of the university;
  - (h) the dean or director of student affairs of the university or, if none, the officer exercising comparable functions;
  - (i) the head of each constituent or member college;
  - (j) the vice deans of the Faculty of Arts and Science;
  - (k) two persons appointed by the board from amongst its members other than those who are otherwise members of the senate;
  - I) 28 persons elected by, and from amongst, the students of the university in the determined under clause 34(1)(cc), and, in addition, the president of The University of Manitoba Students' Union;
  - (m) two members of the board of directors of the alumni association appointed by that board;
  - (n) the persons elected under section 27;
  - (o) members-at-large appointed under subsection 27(4);

- (p) the head of each affiliated college;
  - (p.1) the president of the Université de Saint-Boniface;
- (q) the Deputy Minister of Advanced Education and Training, or his or her designate.

## Presiding officer of senate

26(2) The president, or, in his absence, a vice-president (academic) according to seniority of appointment as a vice-president (academic) or, in the absence of such a vice-president, the senior dean of the university present shall be the presiding officer at all meetings of the senate.

from The University of Manitoba Act, Section 26