Elders & Traditional Peoples Gathering

About the event

March 20th and 21st, 2018

The University of Manitoba Indigenous Student Centre is excited to invite all our relations to attend the 15th Annual Elders and Traditional Peoples Gathering. This gathering will be held at the University of Manitoba, which is located on Treaty 1 territory, home of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. The purpose of this gathering is to bring Elders and Traditional Peoples from many different nations together to offer teachings and share knowledge. This year's theme is Storytelling Through Music, Art and Poetry. This year, we are excited to come together in community and share our stories and sing our songs in celebration of what makes our cultures strong and resilient.

Event information

This event is free and all are welcome. Lunch will be provided each day.


DAY 1:

Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Migizii Agamik - Bald Eagle Lodge

7:30 am Pipe Ceremony: Wanbdi Wakita
9:00 am Opening Prayer: Norman Meade
Honour Song: Dillon Courchene
9:30 am Welcoming Remarks: Christine Cyr, Director, Indigenous Student Centre
9:30 am Intro of Elders: Carl Stone, Emcee
10:00 am Youth/Student Address
10:30 am Break
10:45 am Errol "C-Weed" Ranville
11:45 am Lunch
12:30 pm Sakoieta Wakathahionni
1:15 pm Linda St. Cyr-Saric
2:15 pm Break
2:30 pm Alo White
3:30 pm Musicians Jason Lepine & Jeremy Rusu
4:00 pm Closing Remarks: Marlene Kayseas/Jordyn Pepin

DAY 2:

Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Migizii Agamik - Bald Eagle Lodge

9:00 am Welcome Back Remarks: Carl Stone
9:30 am Mark Hall
10:30 am Break
10:45 am Nikki Komaksiutiksak
11:30 am Marilyn Dumont
1:00 pm Lunch
1:30 pm Sheldon & Angie Cote
2:30 pm Women's Drum Group (Chickadee Richard, Shannon Buck, Cheryl James)
3:30 pm Thomas Roberts
3:45 pm Closing Ceremony Elders Wrap-Up with Carl Stone
Closing Prayer: Marlene Kayseas
Round Dance

*The Indigenous Student Centre would like to acknowledge the Indigenous work study students who organized and planned this year's event: Amanda Fredlund, Dillon Courchene, Gillian Mcivor, Jordyn Pepin-Sledz and Thomas Roberts.