Access Awareness Days (AAD)

March 26, 2019

Staff with Student Accessibility Services

Access Awareness Day is an annual event at the University of Manitoba designed to promote the inclusion of persons with disabilities on the University of Manitoba campus. On this day, Student Accessibility Services aims to bring awareness to the U of M community of the challenges faced by people with disabilities.

This year an Access Awareness Day event will be held on March 26, 2019. A variety of organizations are invited to set up displays in UMSU University Centre to promote awareness of disability-related issues and services in the community. Please contact us if your organization would like to join us for the day.

In the news

The art of accessibility: Student artwork highlights Access Awareness Days news article from UM Today.


Faculty/Staff Access Awards are presented each year to faculty and staff members at the University of Manitoba for outstanding service in providing accommodations for students with disabilities on campus. Faculty and Staff members were nominated by students. Award recipients were selected by Student Accessibility Services staff based on their commitment to serving students with disabilities, and to going above and beyond to ensure that accommodations were in place for those students.

2011 Access Award Recipients

Mary-Anne Kandrack (Faculty Award)
Steve Hladkyj (Faculty Award)
Christopher Fries (Faculty Award)
Marianne Ralph (Certificate of Appreciation)
Nour Rasheed (Certificate of Appreciation)

2010 Access Award Recipients

Cheryl Albas (Faculty Award)
Terri Ashcroft (Faculty Award)
Lita Fontaine (Faculty Award)
Stephen Holborn (Faculty Award)
Alexander Poruchnyk (Faculty Award)
James Xidos (Faculty Award)
Christina Stagherlin (Certificate of Appreciation)

2009 Access Award Recipients

Ms. Pat Hrabok (Faculty Award)
Dr. E. Bridges (Faculty Award)
Mr. Tyler Nelson (Student Award)
Ms. Lorna Macdonald (Faculty Award)

2008 Access Award Recipients

Ms. Sara Richer (Faculty Award)
Mr. Darren Stebeleski (Faculty Award)
Ms. Genia Bozyk (Staff Award)
Dr. Ruth Cameron (Faculty Award)
Dr. Michelle Davidson (Faculty Award)
Dr. Jeff Young (Faculty Award)
Ms. Heather Nicolson (Staff Award)


A big THANK YOU! to our many exhibitors for supporting Access Awareness Day at the University of Manitoba.