Provincial Research Awards

This page lists all major provincial research awards open to faculty members.
[back to awards listings]

Canadian Red Cross (Manitoba) – Power of Humanity Award
Deadline: March 22
Since 2011, the Canadian Red Cross has been recognizing outstanding individuals who demonstrate the spirit of humanity through volunteerism, advocacy and philanthropy with the Humanitarian of the Year Award. The Red Cross also celebrates youth who are driving positive change in their communities and beyond with the Young Humanitarian of the Year Award.

CBC Manitoba – Future 40
Deadline: October 23
Launched in 2015, this contest recognizes Manitoba's top leaders, builders and change-makers who are 40 or under.  Nominees must be 40 years of age or under as of October 2018.  Canadian nominees must reside in Manitoba for a minimum of 1 year with proof of official residence in Manitoba.  One nominee can be submitted per nominator.  Once a nomination is submitted it is publically published on CBC’s website along with the nominator’s name.

IPAC Lieutenant Governor's Medal in Manitoba
Deadline: December 31
This award recognizes the exceptional achievement of a person who has shown distinctive leadership in public administration in Manitoba.

Manitoba Excellence in Sustainability Awards
Deadline: February 1
The Manitoba Excellence in Sustainability Awards were established to recognize Manitobans who embrace the spirit and principles of sustainable development.  The Awards recognize and honour people, projects, and ideas that successfully apply the principles of sustainable development into concrete and lasting achievements.

Order of Manitoba
Deadline: December 31
Established in 1999, the Order is the highest honour in the Province of Manitoba. It recognizes individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field of endeavour, benefiting in an outstanding manner the social, cultural or economic well being of Manitoba and its residents.

Winnipeg Citizens Hall of Fame
Deadline: November 30
The criteria for induction to the Citizens Hall of Fame requires that the individual must have brought recognition to Winnipeg or have made outstanding contributions to the quality of life and development of the city. The inductee’s achievements may be local, national, or international in scope.

YMCA-YWCA Winnipeg Women of Distinction Awards
Deadline: To be determined
The YMCA-YWCA Women of Distinction Awards Program is an inspirational and exciting celebration of talent, achievement, imagination and innovation, honouring Manitoba women who have made a unique and exemplary contribution to the development of others in our community.