Board Membership

There are two Research Ethics Boards (REBs) at the Bannatyne Campus:

the Biomedical Research Ethics Board (BREB); and
the Health Research Ethics Board (HREB).

The BREB reviews all research ethics protocols involving clinical trials and other biomedical research interventions.
The HREB reviews research from the Bannatyne campus involving the behavioural sciences, surveys, examinations of medical records and protocols of generally lesser risk.
Members of the Colleges of Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy, and Medical Rehabilitation, the affiliated teaching hospitals, and their associated research foundations must submit their protocols to the appropriate REB at the Bannatyne campus. In addition to the Bannatyne campus protocols, the BREB and HREB will review any protocols that may be referred by the REBs on the Fort Garry Campus.
If you do not fall under any of the above listed categories please see the Fort Garry Campus Research Ethics Board website for further information.

Biomedical Research Ethics Board (BREB) Chair:
Dr. L. Nicolle, MD, FRCPC

Health Research Ethics Board (HREB) Chair:
Dr. J. Arnett, Ph.D., C. Psych


Current BREB Membership List (pdf)

Current HREB Membership List (pdf)

If previous versions required please contact:
Denise Cannon at (204) 789-3255