

202 Administration Bldg 66 Chancellors Circle Winnipeg, MB Canada R3T 2N2 T: 204 474 6915 F: 204 261 1318

FOR IMMEDIATE ATTENTION/ACTION

September 22, 2021

TO: Deans, Directors and Department Heads

FROM: Digvir S. Jayas, Vice-President (Research and International) and Distinguished Professor

RE: Falconer Emerging Researcher Rh Awards: Call for Nomination

The purpose of the *Falconer Emerging Researcher Rh Awards*, which were established in 1973 by the Winnipeg Rh Institute Foundation Inc., is to recognize academic staff (excludes nil salaried and adjuncts) who are **early in their research, scholarly work and other creative activities;** and who (i) display exceptional promise, (ii) demonstrate high qualities in innovation and (iii) stimulate research colleagues in their own and related disciplines. Each award consists of a research grant of \$12,000, which must be utilized within three years and is non-transferrable.

In order to be eligible for nomination, nominees, by the application deadline date, must:

- be within eight (8) years of the date on which first of Ph.D. or M.D. or equivalent was conferred (i.e. 2013 or later and in the case of an M.D. who completed residency, it is the year of completion of first residency);
- have been employed at the University of Manitoba for a minimum of two (2) years;
- in the Creative Activities category only, we will consider nominees with the highest terminal degree for their field (e.g., MFA rather than a Ph.D.) and we will consider nominees who have been primarily engaged in the practice of creative activities up to a maximum of eight (8) years.

Please note that nominations of individuals who do not meet these eligibility criteria will only be considered when the letter of nomination provides a clear and strong justification for a departure from the eligibility criteria, bearing in mind the overall purpose of the Awards.

The seven areas in which the Awards are normally made are:

a) Applied Sciences

d) Humanities

b) Creative Activities

e) Interdisciplinary

c) Health Sciences

f) Natural Sciences

g) Social Sciences.

Award nominations are reviewed by a selection committee appointed by the Senate Committee on University Research, on the recommendation of the Vice-President (Research and International). The Selection Committee reserves the right to: (1) place for consideration a nomination in a category other than that in which it was made; and (2) recommend that no award be made in a particular category in a given competition.

Nominations must be supported by:

- a letter of nomination, which: (1) justifies the category (half-a-page) in which the nomination is being made; and (2) addresses in detail (less than three pages) why the nominee qualifies for the award, with specific reference to each of the three (3) criteria (detailed in the first paragraph of this nomination call)
- a brief summary (two pages) of the nominee's work and its significance/importance
- three (and not more than three) supporting letters which address the nominee's suitability in terms of each of the award criteria. Two of these assessments may be from knowledgeable colleagues at institutions other than the University of Manitoba (excluding trainees supported by the candidate and/or previous research supervisors); and
- a current curriculum vitae of the nominee.

The deadline for the receipt of nominations is **November 30th**, **2021. One electronic copy in a single PDF document** (with the contents of the dossier arranged in the order indicated above) should be forward to the Office of the Vice-President (Research and International), attention Ms. Gail Cornock (gail.cornock@umanitoba.ca).

I encourage you to submit a nomination for these prestigious awards. Should you have any questions about these awards, please feel free to contact me or one of my associates: Dr. Jay Doering or Dr. Annemieke Farenhorst.

DJ/wc

c.c.: Dr. Diane Hiebert-Murphy, Provost and Vice-President (Academic)
Dr. Jay Doering, Associate Vice-President (Partnerships)

Dr. Annemieke Farenhorst, Associate Vice-President (Research)

Associate Deans (Research)/Research Liaison Officers

Members of the Rh Awards Selection Committee