Research Award Nominations

Mr. Brent Deere, Research Awards Administrator for the Office of the Vice-President (Research and International) (VPRIO), is available to assist you in preparing a nomination, contacting references and providing you with guidance during the nomination process.  He is also available to coordinate requests for an institutional letter of nomination or support from the Vice-President (Research and International) and / or the President.  Some major awards competitions may require an internal selection process, such as the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) Impact Awards. The VPRIO will arrange an internal deadline and nomination process for such awards.

A list of previous University of Manitoba research award winners can be found here.

For more information, please contact:

Brent Deere
Research Awards Administrator
Office of the Vice-President (Research and International)

The following includes calls for nominations and upcoming deadlines for research awards.  Please note that some of these award deadlines are based on last year’s dates and are subject to change.


Canada Council for the Arts – Killam Prize
Field: Arts and Sciences
Value: $100,000
Deadline: June 15
Every year the Killam Program offers awards to outstanding Canadian scholars working in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences and engineering. These awards are among Canada’s most distinguished research awards.  Five prizes of $100,000 are awarded each year in recognition of outstanding career achievements (1 prize in each of the 5 fields).

Gairdner Foundation - Global Health Award
Field: Basic Science, Clinical Science, Population or Environmental Health
Value: $100,000 (CDN), framed certificate and a sculpture
Deadline: October 1
The Canada Gairdner Global Health Award is directed at health issues pertaining to developing countries. It recognizes those who have made major scientific advances in any one of four areas; namely basic science, clinical science or population or environmental health. These advances must have, or have potential to make a significant impact on health outcomes in the developing world. The Global Health Award consists of $100,000 (CDN), a framed certificate with appropriate citation and a specially designed sculpture.

Gairdner Foundation - International Award
Field: Biomedicine
Value: $100,000 (CDN), framed citation and a commemorative item
Deadline: October 1
The Foundation's aim is to honour and reward outstanding biomedical scientists who have made original contributions to medicine with the ultimate goal of contributing through research to the conquest of disease and relief of human suffering. The Foundation invites the scientific community to nominate qualified scientists from every branch of biomedicine.
The Prize will be valued at $100,000 CDN each.  In addition a framed citation and a commemorative item will be presented at the awards dinner in October 2012.

Gairdner Foundation - Wightman Award
Field: Medicine and medical science
Value: $100,000 (CDN)
Deadline: October 1
A special annual award of $100,000 will be given to a Canadian who, in the opinion of the Foundation, has demonstrated outstanding leadership in medicine and medical science consistent with the purpose of the Foundation.

Trudeau Foundation - Fellowships
All disciplines in the social sciences & humanities and all domains of creative arts
Value: $150,000 over 3 years
Deadline: February 22
Each year, the Foundation selects up to five (5) Fellows who are top-level researchers and professors in the social sciences and humanities (early-career researchers and professors are encouraged to put forward their candidacy as much as candidates with extensive experience). The Fellows will receive financial compensation corresponding to the activities for which they have been selected (training, teaching, sharing and planning). In accordance with the services rendered, the Fellows will receive up to a maximum of $50,000 per year for three (3) years.

Manning Innovation Awards
Field: All disciplines in the social sciences & humanities and all domains of creative arts
Value: $100,000 (Encana Principal), $25,000 (Mitchell Award), $10,000 (Innovation Award)
Deadline: December 17
The Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation has been recognizing and encouraging innovation in Canada since 1982. By means of a nomination, Canadians who have demonstrated recent innovative talent in developing and successfully marketing a new concept, process or procedure, may be eligible for one of these awards:
• Encana Principal Award ($100,000)
• David E. Mitchell Award of Distinction ($25,000)
• Innovation Awards (2 at $10,000)

Royal Society of Canada
Arts and Sciences
Value: Honourary
Deadline: December 1
The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) is the senior national body of distinguished Canadian scholars, artists and scientists.  It is Canada’s national academy.  The primary objective of the RSC is to promote learning and research in the arts and sciences.  The RSC consists of nearly 2000 Fellows, men and women who are selected by their peers for outstanding contributions to the natural and social sciences, in the arts and in the humanities.