

RFHS FACULTY EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Tuesday, August 22, 2023 4:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. Remotely via ZOOM

MINUTES

Present:

Peter Nickerson, Chair	Karen Borbridge	Nicole Harder
Anastasia Cholakis	Kristjana Oliver	Raman Dhaliwal
Ann Ahn	Lanette Siragusa	Rebecca Mueller
Barbara Rose-Lovett	Lavern Vercaigne	Reg Urbanowski
Carol Cooke	Leanne Leclair	Sari Hannila
Caroline Slivinski	Linda Townsend	Sophia Anastasiadis
Geoff Hicks	Lorraine Glassford	Valerie Williams
Jacquie Ripat	Marcia Anderson	Vladan Protudjer
James Gilchrist	Netha Dyck	Brenda Peterson, Recorder

1. Welcome and quorum established:

Peter Nickerson welcomed everyone and quorum (23) was reached.

2. Land Treaty Acknowledgement:

Dean Nickerson recognized the Territory Acknowledgement: "The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabe, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. We respect the Treaties that were made on these territories, we acknowledge the harms and mistakes of the past, and we dedicate ourselves to move forward in partnership with Indigenous communities in a spirit of reconciliation and collaboration."

3. Approval of the Agenda:

Reg Urbanowski MOVED, seconded by Netha Dyck, THAT the agenda be approved as received.

CARRIED

4. Approval of the Minutes of January 31, 2023:

Sari Hannila **MOVED**, seconded by Anastasia Cholakis, **THAT** the minutes of January 31, 2023 be approved as presented.

CARRIED

5. Program Expansion- Update:

Dean Nickerson advised that the expansion of the RT program was approved along with the UGME and PGME

expansion requests. Expansion of the OT, PT, PA and Nurse Practitioner programs are under consideration with the government. We did submit expansion of the B.H.St. program which was approved by the Board of Governors. The request has gone to the government but no response received to date.

6. Approvals:

6.1 Proposal to endorse closure of the B.Sc.(Pharm.) Program:

Lavern Vercaigne advised that the Pharm.D. program is now the entry-level Pharmacy program in Canada and since we no longer offer the B.Sc. (Pharm.) program, we need to officially close it and have it removed from the University Academic Calendar. We are required to submit a Permanent Cessation of a Program of Study form and the course deletion forms and have it approved through Senate, the Board of Governors and the province. This proposal was approved through the College of Pharmacy Council on June 9, 2023.

Lavern Vercaigne **MOVED**, seconded by Netha Dyck, **THAT** the above-noted proposal be approved as presented.

CARRIED

Action: To be submitted to the Senate Committee on Curriculum and Course Changes for Senate approval and copied to the Provost's Office.

6.2 Interdisciplinary Health Program Course Modifications:

Sari Hannila provided an overview of the following IHP course changes and noted that all items were approved at the June 21, 2023, IHP Council meeting, with the exception of the Health Studies and Health Minors calendar update which was approved by e-vote on August 4, 2023:

Course deletions:

HMEC 4060 – Special Studies in Human Ecology

Course modifications:

HEAL 4650 - Selected Topics in Interdisciplinary Health

Program modifications:

Bachelor of Health Sciences (B.H.Sc.) revisions:

- 1. Deletion of SWRK 1310, addition of SWRK 2040 (equivalent courses) to the Program Electives list.
- 2. Addition of HIST 2020 to the program Electives list, Social Sciences category.

Bachelor of Health Studies (B.H.St.) revisions:

- 1. Deletion of SWRK 1310, addition of SWRK 2040 (equivalent courses) to the Program Electives list as well as the Health Studies Concentration list Health Policy, Planning, and Evaluation.
- 2. ANTH 1210 title change on the required course list for the Health Studies Degree.

Minor in Health Studies and Minor in Health Sciences:

Adding an electives list to each calendar chart.

Sari Hannila **MOVED**, seconded by Anastasia Cholakis, **THAT** the above-noted course modifications be approved as presented.

CARRIED

ACTION: To be submitted to the Senate Committee on Curriculum and Course Changes for Senate approval.

7. Adjournment:

Reg Urbanowski MOVED, seconded by Lavern Vercaigne, THAT the meeting be adjourned (4:45 p.m.).