

Office of the Dean

A102 Chown Bldg. 753 McDermot Ave. Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada R3E 0W3 Phone: 204-789-3485

Max Rady College of Medicine COLLEGE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL December 20, 2022 at 4:30 pm Remotely via Zoom

MINUTES

Present:

Peter Nickerson, Chair Jose Francois Rebecca Mueller Aaron Chiu Josée Lavoie **Robert Sanders** Sabine Hombach-Klonisch **Anthony Wightman** Joss Reimer Barbara Lynne Triggs-Raine Jude Uzonna Sam Kung Brenda Loewen, Recorder Karen Appel Samuel Ogunsola Brenda Peterson **Kevin Coombs** Sara Goulet Cliff Yaffe Kurt Skakum Sara Israels Sarah Guenther **Douglas Ripley** Lani Jones **Edward Buchel** Lawrence Elliott Sharon Bruce George Zhanel Lesley Graff Shawn Young Martha Ainslie Sheldon Permack Jason Peeler Jean-Eric Ghia Mê-Linh Le Sophia Anastasiadis Jessica Hartley Patricia Birk Tamara McColl Joanne Maier Paul Park **Taylor Nimchonok** Peter Cattini Vanessa Poliquin Jodi Jones John van der Zweep Raman Dhaliwal Versha Banerji

1. Welcome and Quorum:

Peter Nickerson welcomed everyone and quorum (18) was reached.

2. Approval of Agenda:

Jose Francois MOVED, seconded by Aaron Chiu, THAT the agenda be approved.

CARRIED

3. Approval of the Minutes of August 16, 2022:

Aaron Chiu **MOVED**, seconded by Sabine Hombach-Klonisch, **THAT** the Minutes of August 16, 2022 be approved.

CARRIED

4. Approvals:

4.1 Department of Community Health Sciences By-Laws (Executive Committee) and Graduate Studies Terms of Reference

Sharon Bruce provided an overview of the above-noted By-Laws indicating they are seeking approval to membership changes to remove the requirement for part-time members. This was

approved at the CHS Executive and Department Councils. This offers full-time members greater opportunity to serve. Membership will now include six elected department members, with at least four of whom are full-time.

Sharon Bruce provided an overview of the above-noted Terms of Reference indicating that the current term is three years and that they are seeking approval to reduce membership to two years to allow new people a chance to contribute.

Sharon Bruce **MOVED**, seconded by Peter Cattini **THAT** the Department of Community Health Sciences By-Laws be approved as presented.

CARRIED

Sharon Bruce **MOVED**, seconded by Jose Francois **THAT** the Graduate Studies Terms of Reference be approved as presented.

CARRIED

Action: The CHS By-laws will proceed to College Council for final approval. The Graduate Studies Terms of Reference require no further approval.

4.2 Professor Emeritus/a; Dean Emeritus Nominations

4.2.1 Professor Emeritus/a

- **4.2.1.1** Blakely, Brian (Otolaryngology)
- **4.2.1.2** Embree, Joanne (Pediatric Infectious Diseases and Child Health/Medical Microbiology)
- 4.2.1.3 Hatch, Grant (Pharmacology and Therapeutics)
- **4.2.1.4** Postl, Brian (Medicine/Faculty of Health Sciences)

4.2.2 Dean Emeritus

4.2.2.1 Postl, Brian (Medicine/Faculty of Health Sciences)

Sara Israels advised that the above-noted Professors Emeritus/a nominations and the Dean Emeritus nomination were reviewed and internally approved.

Sara Israels **MOVED**, seconded by Cliff Yaffe, **THAT** these nominations be approved as presented.

CARRIED

Action: The nominations will be submitted to the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences Executive Council for approval.

5. For Information:

Interactions with Health-Related Industries Policy

Raman Dhaliwal advised the above noted policy is provided for information and that the Policy has not been elevated to RFHS.

6. Report from Doctors Manitoba

No report.

7. New Business

Peter Nickerson advised that a special College Council meeting has been scheduled for January 9, 2023 in response to discussions with the Provost's office regarding a proposed expansion to the MPAS, UGME and PGME programs. The deadline to have our submission to the Treasury Board is January 16th. We will submit our proposal with a rider that the proposal must go through the normal administrative processes at the University.

Peter Nickerson congratulated Cliff Yaffe on his retirement, extending thanks for his many years of service.

8. Adjournment:

The meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.