

Office of the Dean

A102 Chown Bldg. 753 McDermot Ave. Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada R3E 0W3

Phone: 204-789-3485

# Max Rady College of Medicine COLLEGE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL January 18, 2022 at 4:30 pm Remotely via Zoom

## **MINUTES**

#### **Present:**

Peter Nickerson, Acting Chair	Fred Zeiler	Mary-Jane Seager
Aaron Chiu	Gabor Fischer	Mojgan Rastegar
Aaron Marshall	George Zhanel	Patricia Birk
Alon Altman	Grant Hatch	Paul Park
Anna Solmundson	lan Jones	Peter Cattini
Audrey Katako	Ira Ripstein	Rachel Bethune
Barbara Triggs-Raine	Jitender Sareen	Raman Dhaliwal
Barry Cohen	Joanne Maier	Ramin Hamedani
Brenda Peterson, Recorder	Jodi Jones	Rebeca de Oliveira Camargo
Carol Cooke	John Van der Zweep	Rizwan Manji
Charles Penner	Josée Lavoie	Sabine Hombach-Klonisch
Chase Figley	Josh Aquin	Sam Kung
Chau Pham	Keith Fowke	Sara Goulet
Chris Christodoulou	Kevin Coombs	Sharon Bruce
Chris Moskal	Kirk McManus	Shawn Young
Clare Ramsey	Lani Jones	Shayne Taback
Cliff Yaffe	Lawrence Elliott	Sheldon Permack
Eberhard Renner	Lesley Graff	Sophia Anastasiadis
Edward Leung	Lorne Sexton	Versha Banerji
Eftekhar Eftekharpour	Marco Essig	
Eric Jacobsohn	Marina Fujishima	

## 1. Welcome and Quorum:

Peter Nickerson welcomed everyone and quorum (18) was reached.

## 2. Approval of Agenda:

Change #3 to read "Minutes of December 21."

Eberhard Renner MOVED, seconded by Ian Jones, THAT the agenda be approved as corrected.

**CARRIED** 

#### 3. Approval of the Minutes of December 21, 2021:

Aaron Chiu **MOVED**, seconded by Eftekhar Eftekharpour, **THAT** the Minutes of December 21, 2021 be approved.

**CARRIED** 

#### 4. Approvals:

# 4.1 Proposal to establish a Professorship in Anesthesiology:

Chris Christodoulou provided an overview of the above-noted Professorship. Discussion followed.

Barbara Triggs-Raine **MOVED**, seconded by Shayne Taback, **THAT** a Professorship in Anesthesiology be approved as presented.

**CARRIED** 

**Action:** The proposal will proceed to Faculty Executive Council, then to the Vice-President (Academic) Office for review/letter of support, and then to the Senate Committee on University Research (SCUR) for approval.

#### 4.2 Discoveries in Immunology Visiting Professorships Proposal:

Aaron Marshall provided an overview of the above-noted Professorships. Discussion followed.

Kevin Coombs **MOVED**, seconded by Mary-Jane Seager, **THAT** the Discoveries in Immunology Visiting Professorships proposal noted above be approved as presented.

**CARRIED** 

**Action:** Visiting Professorships are excluded from the policy on establishing chairs and professorships, therefore, since these endowed visiting professorships are to host two visiting professors per year for a short duration to interact with faculty and students of the Department of Immunology, no further approval is required.

#### 5. Report from Doctors Manitoba

Kristjan Thompson, President of Doctors Manitoba, requested that the weekly newsletter be entered as his report to this committee. The link to the newsletter is as follows: https://doctorsmanitoba.ca/managing-your-practice/weekly-member-message.

#### 6. New Business

None.

## 7. The meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Upcoming meeting dates: May 3; August 16; December 20.