

Office of the Dean

A102 Chown Bldg. 753 McDermot Ave. Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada R3E 0W3 Phone: 204-789-3485

# MAX RADY COLLEGE OF MEDICINE College Executive Council August 17, 2021 at 4:30 pm via ZOOM

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87155952872?pwd=ZEVIQWpreXITY05yeEZWM3BNSEh2QT09

# **MINUTES**

#### Attendees:

Afshin Raouf	Jason Peeler	Mojgan Rastegar
Alon Altman	Jean-Eric Ghia	Nancy Dixon
Andrew Halayko	Jessica Hartley	Nancy Porhownik
Anna Solmundson	Ira Ripstein	Patricia Birk
Audrey Katko	Jodi Jones	Paul Park
Aviva Goldberg	John Van Der Zweep	Peter Cattini
Brenda Peterson	Jose Francois	Peter Nickerson, chair
Charles Penner	Josh Aquina	Patricia Birk
Chase Figley	Jude Uzonna	Rachel Bethune
Chris Christodoulou	Karen Soares, Recorder	Rebecca de Oliveira Camargo
Chris Moskal	Keith Fowke	Robert Sanders
Cliff Yaffe	Kirk McManus	Sabine Homback Klonisch
Dana Conrad, for Ian Jones	Lawrence Elliott	Sam Kung
Ed Leung	Lesley Graff	Sharon Bruce
Eftekhar Eftekharpour	Lorne Sexton	Sheldon Permack
Fred Zeiler	Marco Essig	Tamara McColl
Geoffrey Hicks	Marina Costa Fujishima	Tessa Bortoluzzi
lan Dixon	Mary-Jane Seager	Trevor Lee
Ira Ripstein		

The meeting was called to order at 4:30 pm. Quorum was achieved and the meeting commenced.

# 1. Approval of the Minutes – April 27, 2021

Sharon Bruce made a motion to approve the minutes, all were in favour.

# 2. Approval of Agenda

lan Dixon made a motion to approve the agenda, all were in favour.

#### 3. Approvals

# 3.1 Physiology & Pathophysiology Department Council Bylaws

Peter Cattini moved that the Physiology & Pathophysiology Department Council Bylaws be approved. These were previously approved by their department council on June 29, 2021. Keith Fowke seconded the motion, all in favour; **carried**.

**Action:** Department to send revised bylaws to the University Secretary for filing.

#### 3.2 Removal of the UGME Reappraisal Policy

Nancy Porhownik spoke of the Removal of the UGME Reappraisal Policy, and Ira Ripstein noted that he supported the removal of this policy. Nancy Porhownik moved that the UGME Reappraisal Policy be removed; it was <u>seconded</u> by Aviva Goldberg, all in favour; **carried**.

**Action:** No further action required.

## 3.3 Proposed Revisions for the Evelyn Wyrzykowski Research Chair in Cardiology

Peter Nickerson discussed the proposed revisions for the Evelyn Wyrzykowski Research Chair in Cardiology and moved to accept the revision to the terms of reference for the Evelyn Wyrzkowski Research Chair in Cardiology. Mary-Jane Seager <u>seconded</u> the motion, all in favour; **carried**.

**Action:** Department to send revisions to SCUR for final approval.

## 3.4 PGME Policies

- 3.4.1 PGME Core Curriculum
- **3.4.2** Evaluation of Faculty by Residents
- **3.4.3** Evaluation of the Rotation/Educational Experience by Residents

Cliff Yaffe put forward a motion to approve the three PGME policies listed above. He noted that these are not new policies, only modifications that offer more clarity. Charles Penner seconded the motion, all in favour; **carried**.

**Action:** No further action required.

### 4. Adjournment

With no further items for discussion, Peter Nickerson moved for adjournment. Geoffrey Hicks seconded the motion, all in favour. Meeting adjourned at 4:44 pm.

# 5. Next Meeting - Tuesday, November 16, 2021 at 4:30 pm