Örjan Sandred

Örjan Sandred moved to Winnipeg from Stockholm, Sweden in 2005 to join the Desautels Faculty of music at the University of Manitoba. Supported by grants from the Canada Foundation for Innovation and the Manitoba Research and Innovation Fund, he founded Studio FLAT- a studio for computer music research and production at the University of Manitoba. Previous to his current position he was teaching composition and electro-acoustic music at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm 1998-2005. In 2016 Örjan was a D.A.A.D. visiting professor at Hochschule für Musik Detmold in Germany.

M.F.A., Diploma I Komposition (Royal College of Music Stockholm) Örjan studied composition at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm (Magnus Lindberg, Pär Lindgren, Sven-David Sandström, Daniel Börtz and Bill Brunson), McGill University (Bruce Mather) and at IRCAM in Paris. He also took private lessons with the Danish composer Poul Ruders, and studied musicology at the University in Uppsala, Sweden.

Örjan’s music is performed worldwide. Recent performances include the premiere of Konzert für Konzerthaus for the Wave Field Synthesis loudspeaker system at the Detmold concert hall in Germany, and a portrait concert at the Concert hall in Uppsala, Sweden (broadcast on Swedish National Radio and Rádio e Televisão de Portugal). Canadian events include being featured as the resident composer at the SALT New Music Festival in Victoria, and his latest string quartet having been premiered by the German ensemble Klangforum Heidelberg during their 2018 Canadian tour. In January 2019, two of his comositions will be performed at a Ground Swell New Music Concert in Winnipeg.

Örjan has established himself as a composer of both instrumental and computer music. He has composed music for both Canadian performers, such as the Harrington/Loewen Duo (Ice Fog for saxophone, piano and live electronics), and Sarah Jo Kirsch (A Ghazal for soprano and live electronics). As well, he has received international commissions from the Swedish Concert Institute, Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, and others. In recent years Örjan has composed a series of pieces with live electronics; including solo parts for oboe, percussion, saxophone, piano, violin, cello, and voice. Among his larger compositions are “Lament for Humanity” for symphony orchestra, and a solo concerto for Yamaha Wind Controller and Symphony Orchestra. He is currently working on a commission for pipe organ and live electronics, commissioned by Professor Hans-Ola Ericsson at McGill university.




Professor of Composition
Director of Studio FLAT
Composition (seminar and individual)
Electro-Acoustic Music
Interactive Computer Music
Computer Assisted Composition

Chair of Appeals and Student Discipline 
Chair of Music Accessibility Advisory


Room 219 Taché Hall
Desautels Faculty of Music
University of Manitoba
136 Dafoe Road
Winnipeg, MB. R3T 2N2
Phone: 204-474-9721
Email: Orjan.Sandred@umanitoba.ca