Students' Association

2019-2020 FMSA Council:

Senior Stick

Isaac Tate 

Vice Stick 

Emily Gayleard


Callum Goulet-Kilgour


Anica Warkentine

Director of Communications 

Sikhona Gwintsa

Director of Programming 

Chelsea Howgate

UMSU Representative  

Gloria Aza Farje

Senate Representative  

TBD in September

Jazz Studies Representative 

Mariana Padeanu

First Year Representative (classical)

Abby Woytowich

First Year Representative (jazz) Nathan Clark

Graduate Representative TBD


UMFM Director


General inquiries can be emailed to:
Faculty of Music Student Association on facebook and

FMSA Mission Statement: 

The mission of the Desautels Faculty of Music Students’ Association Council is to foster a unified student and staff community within our faculty and advocate for the rights and better education of our students. Through effective communication between students, faculty, staff and the wider University of Manitoba, we aspire to build a professional and supportive community within the Desautels Faculty of Music.

FMSA Constitution (Revised 2018)


Opera Theatre Ensemble Performance
March 2013

Faculty of Music Students
at Target Poverty Rally

The eXperimental Improv Ensemble (XIE) created these "Singing Signs", a mobile sonic installation, for a Target Poverty rally. The signs used adhesive speakers, battery-powered amplifiers, computers and iPods.

rally 1  rally2