Our History


Family Medicine Residency Program:
Our Journey 1973–2013

1970 - A commission (Hunt Commission) is appointed to examine issues around admitting privileges and examines the decline in the number of general practitioners in Manitoba.

1971 - The commission recommends the University of Manitoba and other interested bodies actively pursue creating a postgraduate training program and that select family practitioners be given joint university/hospital appointments.  

1971 - Dr. Claude Murphy and Dr. Gary Beazley accept positions to develop a Department of Family Practice at St. Boniface General Hospital and a residency program.  

1972 - The University of Manitoba Faculty of Medicine approves the residency training program.

1973 - Dr. Jim Hart and Dr. George Renouf accept full-time teaching positions. The first residents enter the program. 

1974 - The College of Family Physicians of Canada approves the residency training program. Margaret Bartsch, the first female resident enters the program.

1975 - The first residents, Dr. Jim Thorsteinson and Dr. Larry Reynolds graduate. Dr. Robin Krause and Dr. Gary Beazley start the Primary Care Clerkship program.

1976 - The Family Practice Training Unit relocates to 400 Taché Avenue.

1977 - The University of Manitoba approves the creation of the Department of Family Medicine.

1978 - Family Medicine gains full department status within the Faculty of Medicine.

1981 - The Summer Work Experience and Training Program (SWEAT) for first- and second-year medical students is established. Kildonan Medical Centre opens within Seven Oaks General Hospital.

1982 - The third-year Family Medicine/Psychiatry rotation centred on ambulatory care is created. 

1986 - A section of Emergency Medicine is established within the Department of Family Medicine.

1991 - The Parkland Family Medicine Residency Unit is established.

1998 - Dr. Peter Kirk, Department Head, assumes a dual role, taking on the responsibilities of Medical Director, Family Medicine, Winnipeg Hospital Authority (later the WRHA). This launches a new, closer working relationship between academia and the provision of clinical care.

1999 - The Primary Health Care Research Unit and the Palliative Medicine Residency Program are established.

2001 - The Department of Family Medicine and Shantou University Medical College in Shantou China begin an exchange program.    

2005 - The Bilingual (English/French) Family Medicine Residency Stream accepts its first residents.

2008 - The Northern and Remote Family Medicine Residency Stream accepts its first resident. The Primary Care Sports and Exercise Medicine Enhanced Skills Program launches and the Care of the Elderly program is reinstated.  

2010–2011 - Three Family Medicine Enhanced Distributed Education Centres are created in Steinbach, Mordon/Winkler, and Brandon. 

2011 - The Northern Connection Medical Centre opens on Elgin Street.

2013–2014 - Brandon receives special status as a satellite campus.

September 12, 2013 - The Department of Family Medicine celebrates 40 years of history and accomplishments at the Winnipeg Art Gallery.

2014 - The Department of Family Medicine becomes part of the University of Manitoba's new College of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences. 

2016 - College of Medicine renamed as Max Rady College of Medicine, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences