Degree Equivalencies

All | Africa



  For entrance into the Master's program:

  • Successful completion of a 4 year Bachelor's Degree from a recognized institution;
  • A minimum grade of 60% or standing of Second Class, Upper Division in the last two years of study, where the typical grading scale is:
UM Scale Nigerian Scale
A+ 85-100% (First Class)
A 70-84% (First Class)
B+ 65-69% (Second Class, Upper Division)
B 60-64% (Second Class, Upper Division)
C+ 55-59% (Second Class, Lower Division)
C 50-54% (Second Class, Lower Division)
D 45-49% (Pass)
F 0-44% (Fail)
  • Some institutions may allow 40-44% as a Pass Class. Such a score would be equivalent to a D grade.

  • *To convert from a 4.0 scale to a 4.5 scale, first calculate the GPA on a 4.0 scale, and then convert to a 4.5 scale for the International Graduate Student Entrance Scholarship (IGSES) and International Graduate Student Scholarship (IGSS) using the following calculation:
    Calculated GPA  =  x
    4.0 4.5

  For entrance into the PhD program:

  • Requirements listed above (see Master's program) plus successful completion of a Master's Degree from a recognized institution.


Please note, text translated by Google Translate is for reference only. Refer to the original English for official text.