John Wesley Dafoe PSSC 2017 Conference - Canada at 150: Canada in the World

25 - 27 January 2017
Great Hall, University College
Canada at 150: Canada in the World

Student Organizers
Meagan Cloutier
Bill Featherstone
Shreya Ghimire
Avery Sharpe
Anthony Wightman

Conference Summary
In 2017, the thirty-third annual Political Studies Students’ Conference will be held at the University of Manitoba. In commemoration and celebration of the 150 year anniversary of Confederation, the theme of this conference will be dedicated to Canada, its political culture and institutions, and its impact and role on the world. This interdisciplinary conference, entitled “Canada in the World at 150,” is scheduled for January 25-27, 2017.


Free admission to the Public


Conference Poster

Conference Agenda

Wednesday, January 25th
7:00 The Paul Buteux Lecture (event poster)
Mr. Paul Wells
McNally Robinson Booksellers
Thursday, January 26th
Conference Introduction Dr. Andrea Rounce, Faculty Advisor, J.W. Dafoe Political Studies Students' Conference
10:00 Panel One – Canada and the Environment 
Mr. Henry Venema, International Institute for Sustainable Development 
Mr. David McLaughlan, Special Advisor, Government of Manitoba 
Dr. Shannon Stunden Bower, University of Alberta
Moderator: Mr. Paul Samyn, Editor, Winnipeg Free Press
11:30 Roundtable “Studying Canada: Challenges and Opportunities” 
1:00 Panel Two – Canada as an Economic Actor    
Mr. Glen Hodgson, Conference Board of Canada 
Dr. Laura Dawson, Director, Canada Institute, Wilson Center
Dr. Radhika Desai, University of Manitoba 
Moderator: Dr. Karine Levasseur, University of Manitoba
2:30 Coffee

Panel Three – Canada as a Military Actor       
Dr. Andrea Charron, University of Manitoba 
Brigadier General Chad Manske, Deputy Commander, 1st Canadian Air Division    
Ms. Rebecca Jensen, University of Calgary 
Moderator: Dr. Jim Fergusson, University of Manitoba

Friday, January 27th
9:30 Panel Four – The State of Canada’s Multiculturalism
Dr. Shauna Labman, Faculty of Law, University of Manitoba         
Dr. Daniel Weinstock, McGill University 
Dr. Lori Wilkinson, University of Manitoba
Moderator: Mr. Richard Cloutier, CJOB
11:00 Coffee
11:30 Panel Five – The Future of Federalism
Dr. Nadia Verrelli, Lakehead University 
Dr. Niigaan Sinclair, University of Manitoba
Dr. Kiera Ladner, University of Manitoba
Moderator: Dr. Barry Ferguson, Duff Roblin Professor of Government, University of Manitoba
1:15 Closing Remarks


For more details, email


About PSSC


Political Studies Student Conference
525 Fletcher Argue,
University of Manitoba,
Winnipeg, MB R3T 5V5

PH: (204) 474-8546

Facebook /jwdpssc | Twitter @UMPSSC

Thank you to all of our sponsors:

J.W. Dafoe Foundation

Duff Roblin Professorship of Government

Department of Political Studies

Department of Sociology

Canadian Studies

St. John’s College

St. Paul’s College

Arts Student Body Council

Manitoba Institute for Policy Research
Department of Native Studies

Department of Economics