J.W. Dafoe Political Studies Student Conference 2021

The Legacy of 911 and the Defence of North America

This year's conference will be online. Five distinct events will be held including:

 

  Date and timing  (CT)

                                        Panel                                              

        Comments               

Wed 27 January 2021 
18h00 – 19h15 CST
19h00 – 20h15 EST

Paul Buteux Lecture: Evolution in Policing since 9/11

Panelist:
- Assistant Commissioner Jane MacLatchy on the evolution in policing since 9/11.

Dr. Andrea Charron (Moderator)
Dr. Shannon Nash (Q & A)

 

NAADSN registration link: https://www.naadsn.ca/events/the-legacy-of-9-11-on-policing-with-rcmp-assistant-commissioner-jane-maclatchy/

Thursday 28 January 2021 
13h00 – 14h15 CST
14h00 – 15h15 EST

Economic Implications of 9/11

Panellist:
- Dr. Radhika Desai 
- U.S. Consul General Bryan Koontz
- Dr. Michelle Gallant

Dr. Bryan Peeler (Moderator)

 

Eventbrite registration link: https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/the-economic-implications-of-911-tickets-135426866403

Thursday Feb 4 
11h30 – 12h45 CST
12h30 – 13h45 EST

Social Implications

Social Implications of 9/11

Panellist:
- Dr. Tami Jacoby
- Dr. Marshall Beier
- Dr. Kawser Ahmed

Ms. Homaira Nezami (Moderate)

 

Eventbrite registration link: https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/the-social-implications-of-911-tickets-136191206565

Thursday Feb 11th 
14h30 – 15h45 CST
15h30 – 16h45 EST

Defence Implications of 9/11

Panellist:
- Brigadier General Edward L. Vaughan
- Ms. Iris Ferguson
- Assistant Director Jason Evert (CBSA)

Dr. Andrea Charron (Moderator) 

Eventbrite registration link: https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/the-defence-implications-of-911-tickets-135421917601

 

Eventbrite registration link: https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/the-defence-implications-of-911-tickets-135421917601

Thursday Feb 25th 
18h30 – 20h00 CST
19h30 – 21h00 EST

9/11 - the Day

Panellist:

- Lieutenant-General (ret.) Eric A. Findley
Mr. Paul Samyn, Editor of the Winnipeg Free Press

On 9/11, MGen Eric Findley, Director of Operations for NORAD, was at Cheyenne Mountain. During the evening of 10 September 2001, the NORAD battle staff were engaged in a global strategic exercise (VIGILANT GUARDIAN) and fine-tuning a counter-air operation in the Northwest of North America. MGen Findley had several things on his mind during the evening – how to manage an emerging divergence between NORAD and the FAA on the operational necessity for the existing Joint Surveillance Radars; how to expedite the allocation of resources for operations; and how to move forward on a new battle control system. A long night was drawing to a close when the request for NORAD assistance with a ‘possible’ hijacking took place. As that process was being executed, the initial reports of a spectacular airplane crash into one of the World Trade Center towers occurred.  The rest, as they say is history.

Mr. Paul Samyn, editor of the famed Winnipeg Free Press, will engage in a conversation with now LGen (ret) Eric Findley about that day's events. Mr. Samyn was a young reporter in New York on that day.  Together, they will recount this unforgettable day from their perspectives. 

CGAI registration link: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEkcu2prTIiH9ekHxg5VDW0eEXrLWiKnxrT 
Meeting ID: 815 2987 7219

 

CGAI registration link: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEkcu2prTIiH9ekHxg5VDW0eEXrLWiKnxrT 
Meeting ID: 815 2987 7219

 

 Stay tuned for registration details.  Any questions, please email pssc@umanitoba.ca.