University of Manitoba - Faculty of Arts - Faculty of Arts Outstanding Professor Award
Faculty of Arts Outstanding Professor Award

The Outstanding Professor Award shall be given to a professor in the Faculty of Arts who has best demonstrated excellence in teaching, outstanding research, and who has an exemplary record of service.   The award includes a certificate of recognition, a prize of $1500, and the addition of the recipient’s name on the Faculty of Arts Wall of Recognition in the Fletcher Argue Building.
Nominations for the award can be made by students*, Arts faculty members, and Arts department heads or program coordinators.  Nominations should include the Outstanding Professor Award nomination form, and three letters of support from persons in addition to the nominator, one of whom must be a student.  Normally nominees should hold the rank of Professor or Associate Professor at the time of nomination.
*Students include both undergraduates registered in the Faculty of Arts or graduate students registered in the Faculty of Graduate Studies, but completing their degrees in a department or program in the Faculty of Arts.
The deadline for submission of nominations is April 30, and the Dean will formally announce the award recipient in September.

Awardees are expected to give a public talk on a topic related to their research and/or teaching in the academic year following receipt of the award.

 Recipients of the Outstanding Professor Award
 2020 Dr. Roisin Cossar  
 2019 Dr. Warren Cariou  
 2018 Dr. Adele Perry  
 2017 Dr. Jessica Cameron  
 2016 Dr. Jorge Nállim  
 2015 Dr. David Churchill