Winnipeg Modern
Winnipeg Modern: Architecture 1945-1975

Editor: Serena Keshavjee
Design: Herbert Enns

Winnipeg Modern was originally published in 2006 with a run of 3000 copies, which quickly sold out.  In 2011, the Office of the Dean, Faculty of Architecture reprinted the publication in conjunction with their Centennial Celebrations.

Beginning in the 1940s, John A. Russell, dean of the School of Architecture at the University of Manitoba, nurtured a strong tradition of Modernist design with close connections to architectural giants such as Mies van der Rohe and Walter Gropius. Under Russell’s guidance, a generation of young architects, such as James Donahue and David Thordarson, adapted the principles of European Modernism to the prairie geography. Other nationally renowned architects, such as Étienne Gaboury and Gustavo da Roza, also left a lasting Modernist mark on Winnipeg’s skyline and private residences. Edited by Serena Keshavjee, Winnipeg Modern captures the grace and beauty of the Modernist period and includes critical and historical essays on the aesthetic and social project of Modernist architecture in Winnipeg. Lavishly illustrated with 300 photographs from provincial archives, the private archives of architect Henry Kalen, and contemporary photographer Martin Tessler, this book is a testament to the Modernist principles of structural expression and purity of form.

Click here to purchase a copy of Winnipeg Modern: Architecture 1945-1975

Winnpeg Modern Cover Image