Warming Huts v2016
Started in 2009, Warming Huts: An Art + Architecture Competition on Ice has been melding world-class design with Winnipeg’s winter wonderland. The competition has seen entries from across the globe and caught the attention of international architecture publications and awards, as well as admiration from newspapers such as the New York Times.

Join us in Centre Space and enjoy hot buttery popcorn while the Warming Huts Design Teams discuss their design process and build challenges.  

TEMPLE, by: Kirill Bair and Daria Lisitsyna, from Russia
Warming Huts

ICE MAZE, by: Andreas Mede, from California, USA
Warming Huts

SHELTERBELT, by: Robert B Trempe Jr, from Nebraska, USA
Warming Huts

FABRIGAMI by: Faculty of Architecture
Project lead by: Lancelot Coar, Kim Wiese and Jason Hare from the University of Manitoba as well as Caitlin Mueller from MIT and Lars De Laet at Vrije University.
Group members: Brendan Dyck, Cameron Cummings, Janelle Harper, Collin Lamoureux, Mateo Linares, Katryna Lipinski, Stephen Oberlin, Scott Shanks, Erica Ulrich, Thea Pedersen, Daryl Randa, Evan Schellenberg, Francis Garcia, Benjamine Bosiak, Melissa Tssessaze, Zoé Lebel
Warming Huts

BASKET, by: Faculty of Architecture
Project lead by: Mark Pauls, Michael Robertson, Dr. Mohama Araji
Group members: Ting Ting Ng, Alyssa Magas, Brennan Fedak, Sum Yu Lee, Kassandra Swan, Tyler Jones, Mamie Griffiths
Warming Huts


PREVIOUS                                                                                                                           NEXT


Food for Thought
Thursday, January 28, 2016
NOON  |  Centre Space
John A. Russell Building
Faculty of Architecture
University of Manitoba