Adjunct Professors
Name Employer Research Interests
Dr. Meghan Azad
(204) 975-7754
Meghan.Azad@umanitoba.ca
Children's Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba The developmental origins of health and disease (DOHaD), focusing on the role of maternal and infant nutrition. Serving on the M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committees of Reham Al-aini, Fei Huang, and serving on Samar Ahmad's Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committee.
Dr. Heather Blewett
(204) 237-2954
hblewett@sbrc.ca
Canadian Centre for Agri-food Research in Health and Medicine Nutritional immunology. Serving on the M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committee of Yidi Wang and the Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committees of Ala'a Eideh and Gerardo Medina.
Dr. Ian Patrick Clara
(204) 787-3923
ian_clara@yahoo.ca
Community Health Sciences Personality, psychiatric epidemiology, and research methods and modeling. Serving on Kristin Fleet’s Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committee.
Dr. YiFang Chu
YiFang.Chu@pepsico.com
PepsioCo Inc. Serving on the Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committee of Gayatri Thiyam
Dr. Andrea Edel
(204) 258-1126
aedel@sharedhealthmb.ca
Shared Health Manitoba  
Dr. Bin Xiao Fu
(204) 984-5605
binxiao.fu@grainscanada.gc.ca
Canadian Grain Commission, Grain Research Laboratory Bread and Durum Wheat Research. Serving on the Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committee of Hannah Oduro-Obeng.
Dr. Amy Leung Hui
(204) 789-3985
Amy.Hui@umanitoba.ca
Department of Internal Medicine Serving on the M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committee of Fei Huang and Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committee of Kerry Spence.

Dr. Bareem (Pam) Ismail
(612) 625-0147
bismailm@umn.edu

Department of Food Science and Nutrition, University of Minnesota Protein and enzyme chemistry; protein structure/function relationship; functionality, stability and bioactivity of food proteins upon structural modifications; protein allergencity; chemistry and fate of phytochemicals during processing and storage; extractability, stability and bioavailability of phytochemicals as affected by their chemical structure and interactions with proteins; food analysis.  Serving on the Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committee of Adam Franczyk.
Dr. Marta Izydorczyk
(204) 983-1300
marta.izydorczyk@grainscanada.gc.ca
Canadian Grain Commission, Grain Research Laboratory Research on Barley and Other Grains/Milling and Malting Crops Section. Serving on tthe M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committee of Xiang Li.
Dr. Sijo Joseph
(204) 474-6462
Sijo.Thandapilly@AGR.GC.ca
Research Scientist with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Cereal Nutrition; investigating the nutritional and functional attributes of cereal grains. Serving on the M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committees of Md. Jiaur Rahman.

 

Dr. Manuel Juarez
(403) 782-8118
Manuel.Juarez@canada.ca
Agriculture and Agri Good Canada Linking livestock genomics and phenotypical research focused on meat production.  Serving on the Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committee of Vipasha Sood.
Dr. Dylan MacKay
(204) 474-8270
Dylan.MacKay@umanitoba.ca
Richardson Centre for Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals Nutritional biochemist; inter-individual variability; gene-nutrient interactions; stable isotopic tracers; non-cholesterol sterols. Serving on Katrina Cachero's M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committee.
Dr. Lovemore Malunga
lovemore.malunga@canada.ca
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Carbohydrate and protein research, conformity assessment and food safety management system consulting. Serving on the Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committee of Pamela Drawbridge.

Dr. Tim McAllister
(403) 317-2240
tim.mcallister@agr.gc.ca

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada     Ruminant Nutrition and Microbiology.  Serving on the M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committees of Matthew Wells, Taylor Davedow, and the Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committee of Emelia Adator.

Dr. Rebecca Mollard
(204) 474-6030
rmollard@sogh.mb.ca

Richardson Centre for Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals Acute and long-term effects of fofods and food components on glycemic, satiety and metabolic control.  Serving on the M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committees of Katrina Cachero, Trevor Kouritzin,  and Adam Franczyk's Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committee.
Dr. Jennifer Protudjer
(204) 594-5356
Jennifer.Protudjer@umanitoba.ca
Department of Pediatrics and Child Health Serving on the M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committee of Ramandeep Kaur (Advisor S. Myrie).
Dr. Jayadev Raju
(343) 542-4469
jayadev.raju@canada.ca
Health Canada Toxological research expertise related to carcinogenesis and co-carcinogenesis of foods and food constituents, including those that are classified as additives, contaminants, process-induced compounds and packaging material-migrating chemicals.  Serving on the M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committee of Lucien Cayer.
Dr. Curtis Rempel     
(204) 982-2105
rempelc@canolacouncil.org  
Canola Council of Canada Crop Production and Innovation.  Serving on the Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committee of Nazanin Vafaei.
Dr. Ali Salimi Khorshidi
Ali.SalimiKhorshidi@umanitoba.ca
Richardson Centre for Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals Serving on the M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committees of Yi Xie and Susane Trevisan.
Dr. Garry Shen
(204) 789-3816
gshen@ms.umanitoba.ca
Department of Internal Medicine Atherosclerosis and lipoprotein metabolism, diabetic vascular complications, endothelial cell biology, mitochondrial biology, oxidative stress and antioxidants, Type 2 diabetes and gestational diabetes, thrombosis and anti-thrombotic peptides, nutritional intervention for preventing diabetic complications, community-based life-style intervention on obesity and diabetes.  Serving on the M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committee and Fei Huang and the Ph.D. Thesis Advisory Committee of Kerry Spence.
Dr. Surendranath Suman
(859) 257-9248
spsuma2@uky.edu
University of Kentucky, Department of Animal and Food Sciences Meat Science.  Serving on the Ph.D. Thesis Adivsory Committee of Md Mahmudul Hasan.
Dr. Mehmet Tulbek
MTulbek@agtfoods.com
AGT Food and Ingredients Serving on the M.Sc. Thesis Advisory Committee of Xiang Li.

Dr. Chibuke Udenigwe
(902) 893-6625
CUdenigwe@Dal.ca

School of Nutrition Sciences, University of Ottawa Fundamental research on bioactive food biopolymers and their roles in human health promotion.
Mr. Alphonsus Utioh
(204) 239-3150
alphonsus.utioh@gov.mb.ca
Food Product Development Centre, Portage la Prairie, MB Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals; Extraction and Fractionation Technologies; Food Product Development. 
Dr. Ramprasath Vanu Ramkumar
vramprasath@sourcenutra.com
Source Nutraceutical Inc. Clinical human nutrition aimed at developing functional foods and nutraceuticals, as well as understanding their mechanisms of action on a variety of health benefits.  Serving on the Ph.D. Avisory Committees of Ethendhar Rajendiran and Jyoti Sihag.