Dr. Annemieke Farenhorst, P.Ag.

Dr. Annemieke Farenhorst is a Professor of Soil Science and the Associate Dean Research in the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences, University of Manitoba. She was born in the Netherlands and holds a Doctorandus degree in Physical Geography and Soil Science from the University of Amsterdam. Dr. Farenhorst earned a Doctoral degree in Geography from the University of Toronto and joined the University of Manitoba in 1997. Before assuming the position of Associate Dean Research in 2019, she was acting Associate Dean Research for 6 months and Acting Head of the Department of Soil Science for one year. She is a Registered Professional Agrologist.

Dr. Farenhorst holds active grants from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), and supervises both natural and social science research trainees ranging from undergraduates to post doctoral fellows. Her natural science research focuses on the fate and distribution of current-use pesticides in soil and water, and particularly on chemical sorption by matrices such as soils, sediments, plants, humic substances, microplastics and biochars. Both her natural and social science research focuses on drinking water quality in First Nations reserves, including monitoring for bacteria and antibiotic resistance genes in tap water, and conducting surveys to better understand the impact of poor drinking water quality on First Nations. In addition, her team developed the Faculty Workplace Climate Survey that is administered to natural sciences and engineering faculty from universities across Canada, and has advanced Canada’s understanding of gender inequities experienced by academics.

Throughout her career at the University of Manitoba, Dr. Farenhorst has been contributing to committees that impacted strategic directions, policies and programs at departmental, Faculty and University levels. She is a past President of the Manitoba Soil Science Society. Currently, she serves on a wide range of committees and boards such as: Co-lead of the environmental scan of the University of Manitoba President's Task Force on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI); Chair of the Endowment Fund Committee of the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences; Board of Directors of the Verna J Kirkness Education Foundation; and Board of Directors of the Canadian Centre for Women in Science, Engineering, Trades and Technology. Dr. Farenhorst is the Secretary of Chemistry and the Environment (Division VI) of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, and an Associate Editor for the Journal of Environmental Science and Health, Part B: Pesticides, Food Contaminants, and Agricultural Wastes.

Dr. Farenhorst was the Prairie NSERC Chair for Women in Science and Engineering from 2011-20, and her program engaged thousands of individuals across Canada, including youth in elementary and high schools, university students, and public and private sector employees. She directed the NSERC CREATE H2O program for First Nations Water and Sanitation Security from 2013-19, helping to train 100 students and particularly Indigenous students and women. Previously, from 2005-14, she also led a large network to advance food security for small-scale farmers in Costa Rica, Honduras and Nicaragua.

Dr. Farenhorst has been recognized for her professional contributions through a range of awards including the 2016 Women’s Executive Network Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Award Winner in the Sun Life Financial Trailblazers & Trendsetters category; 2015 Ms. and Mrs. Ralph Campbell Award for Meritorious Service in University Outreach; 2012 Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal; 2010 University of Manitoba Merit Award for Outreach; 2006 University of Manitoba Merit Award for Research; 2005 University of Manitoba Outstanding Teacher Award; 2003 University of Manitoba Merit Award for Research and Teaching; 2003 The Rh Institute Award for Outstanding Contributions to Interdisciplinary Scholarship and Research; and 2001 Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences Diploma I Teacher of the Year.