Senate Committee on Instruction and Evaluation

Terms of Reference:

1. To gather information about, monitor, and examine, any matters relating directly to academic instruction and evaluation (the term "evaluation" refers to the academic evaluation of teaching and academic evaluation of students) within the University and to recommend policies to Senate on any such matters. Such matters and policies may include, but are not limited to:

(a) the quality, effectiveness, similarities and disparities of instruction and evaluation in all academic units of the University;

(b) new techniques, methodologies and equipment for instruction;

(c) the implementation of instructor/course evaluations in all academic units of the University;

(d) the conduct and scheduling of final examinations, either by the Registrar's Office or by academic units;

(e) the conduct and scheduling of examinations and tests outside the regular examination periods, either by the Registrar's Office or by academic units;

(f) the use of term work in evaluating student performance and the assignment of grades;

(g) the evaluation of practical work and professional suitability;

(h) the grading system, together with related statements of retention or suspension of students;

(i) calendar regulations relating to student academic responsibilities/obligations; and

(j) the deadlines for voluntary withdrawal from classes.

2. To advise faculties/schools either at their request or arising from the Committee's monitoring role, with respect to instructor/course evaluations, student regulations and professional unsuitability bylaws.

3. To receive briefs or other submissions on the subjects of instruction and evaluation as they may be forthcoming from time to time.


1. The Provost and Vice-President (Academic) (or designate) who shall serve as Chair.

2. Seven (7) members of the academic staff, at least one of whom shall be a Senator and at least one of whom should be teaching courses in University 1. These seven shall include one (1) Dean or Director, at least one (1) member from each of the Faculties of Arts and of Science and at least two (2) from the other faculties/schools (one of whom shall be from the Bannatyne campus).

3. Four (4) students, at least one of whom shall be a graduate student.

4. The following non-voting, ex officio, resource persons:

a) UMSU president or vice-president;
b) Dean or Associate Dean of Graduate Studies;
c) Executive Director of the Centre for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning, or delegate;
d) University Registrar or Associate Registrar, or delegate; and
e) Director of Student Advocacy, or delegate.

Approved by Senate February 7, 2001

(includes the former Committee on the Academic Evaluation of Students and the Committee on Instruction)


Mark Torchia



Marcia Yoshida